Reading Slumps

I don’t have a creative title for this post. Bear with me here.

Anyway, for the past couple weeks, I have been in a reading slump. If you don’t know what a reading slump is, dear reader, it’s a period of time where a person cannot seem to get into any books and/or have no desire to read. I mainly get in a reading slump if I read too much at once. Too much reading? There’s no such thing, you say. Oh dear human, I don’t know about you, but if I eat the same food a lot in a short period of time, I want to take a break from it. It’s the same thing with books. If I read too many books, I need to take a break. Plus, my brain refuses to read.

You may now be wondering ways to get out of reading slumps, and to be honest, I’ve been trying different things, and none of them seem to work. I tried forcing myself to read more, which leads to a painful reading experience and later on, an even bigger reading slump. I’ve also tried to encourage myself with goals/rewards/threats. None of them really worked, because my brain simply did not want to read. My best advice is to wait it out, or find a book that you really want to read. But just a fair warning:

You have been warned.

Leave a Reply

