2015 Reading Challenge update


I have so far completed 41 of the challenges out of 50, so I’m a little over 80% through (82%, I believe). Here are the challenges I have completed:

  1. A book with more than 500 pages– The Final Empire (Mistborn, #1)
  2. A classic romance– For Darkness Shows the Stars (For Darkness Shows the Stars, #1)
  3. A book that became a movie– Me and Earl and the Dying Girl
  4. A book published this year– Uprooted
  5. A book with a number in the title– The 5th Wave (The 5th wave, #1)
  6. A book written by someone under 30– Anya’s Ghost
  7. A book with nonhuman characters– Exquisite Captive (Dark Caravan Cycle, #1)
  8. A funny book– Steelheart (Reckoners, #1)
  9. A book by a female author– Tiger’s Voyage (The Tiger Saga, #3)
  10. A mystery or thriller– The Girl on the Train
  11. A book with a one-word title– Jackaby (Jackaby, #1)
  12. A book of short stories– The Assassin’s Blade (Throne of Glass, #0.1-0.5)
  13. A book set in a different country– Ensnared (Splintered, #3)
  14. A nonfiction book– How to Read Literature Like a Professor: For Kids
  15. A popular author’s first book– An Ember in the Ashes (An Ember in the Ashes, #1)
  16. A book from an author you love that you haven’t read yet– Unite Me (Shatter Me, #1.5, #2.5)
  17. A book a friend recommended– A Court of Thorns and Roses (A Court of Thorns and Roses, #1)
  18. A Pulitzer Prize-winning book– Monster
  19. A book based on a true story– If I Stay (If I Stay, #1)
  20. A book at the bottom of your to-read list– The Darkest Part of the Forest
  21. A book that scares you– Hollow City (Miss Peregrine’s Peculiar Children, #2)
  22. A book based entirely on its cover– Tiger’s Quest (The Tiger Saga, #2)
  23. A book you were supposed to read in school but didn’t– The Boy in the Striped Pajamas
  24. A memoir– This Star Won’t Go Out: The Life and Words of Esther Grace Earl
  25. A book you can finish in a day– We Were Liars
  26. A book with antonyms in the title– I’ll Give You the Sun
  27. A book set somewhere you’ve always wanted to visit– The Raven Boys (The Raven Cycle, #1)
  28. A book with bad reviews– Half Bad (Half Bad, #1)
  29. A book from your childhood– Amulet, Vol. 1: The Stonekeeper (Amulet, #1)
  30. A book with a love triangle– The Kiss of Deception (The Remnant Chronicles, #1)
  31. A book set in the future– Fairest (The Lunar Chronicles, #3.5)
  32. A book set in high school– The Impossible Knife of Memory
  33. A book with a color in the title– Red Queen (Red Queen, #1)
  34. A book that made me cry– A Monster Calls
  35. A book with magic– The Magician (The Secrets of the Immortal Nicholas Flamel, #2)
  36. A graphic novel– In Real Life
  37. A book by an author you’ve never read before– Poison Princess (The Arcana Chronicles, #1)
  38. A book you own but have never read– Endless Knight (The Arcana Chronicles, #2)
  39. A book that takes place in your hometown– Reboot (Reboot, #1)
  40. A book written by an author with your same initials– Maximum Ride, Vol. 7 (Maximum Ride: The Manga, #7)
  41. A book you started but never finished– The Giver (The Giver, #1)

And here are the challenges I haven’t completed and the books I plan to read to complete them. Did I just type English? Sometimes I feel like I’m typing my own language that only I can understand….

  1. A book your mom loves– (I don’t know what to do for this one because my mom doesn’t read)
  2. A book more than 100 years old– (A classic, possibly one by Shakespeare)
  3. A book that came out the year you were born– (still looking for a book I want to read)
  4. A trilogy– Dreams of Gods & Monsters (Daughter of Smoke & Bone, #1) (I’ve read the first two books of the trilogy this year)
  5. A book that was originally written in a different language– Ruby Red (Precious Stone Trilogy, #1)
  6. A book set during Christmas– (I don’t know yet)
  7. A play– (Something by Shakespeare)
  8. A banned book– (dunno….)
  9. A book based on or turned into a TV show– Ignite Me (Shatter Me, #3) (The Shatter Me trilogy is being turned into a TV show. EEEKKKKK!!!!!!)

If you actually was crazy enough to read through the whole list, you would have probably noticed some books that don’t seem to belong to the category I put it in. I’ll explain myself at the end of the year when the challenge is over. Am I confident that I’ll finish this challenge? Yes. Well, sort of. I hope I do.

Leave a Reply

