Throne of Glass

It’s about time I do this review.

Now, it’s been awhile since I’ve read this book, so I don’t remember all the details. If I get some of the information wrong, I apologize.

Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas (pronounced ‘mass’) is the first installment in the Throne of Glass series. The series is ongoing (at the time I post the review up), and it’s going to have six books. So far, the first four, Throne of Glass, Crown of Midnight, Heir of Fire, and Queen of Shadows, have been released.

Throne of Glass (a.k.a. ToG) is about a world-known assassin named Celaena Sardothian. Before the book starts, she’s sent to a salt mine where they tortures criminals and no one really has any hope of escape. The King of Adarlan needs a Champion to do his dirty work, and offers to free Celaena if she takes part in this competition to prove that she is the best assassin. She has to compete with 23 other people. In a way, it’s like the Hunger Games, but without the killing.

When she accepts the king’s offer, she is sent to the castle and lives there in the duration of the competition. In the competition, she would be Celaena Sardothian. Out of the competition, she would be Lady Lillian. Two men (two important men, might I add) start falling for Celaena/Lillian.

You know I said that the competition was without killing? Well, that never really happened. One by one, the competitors start turning up horribly murdered. Celaena needs to figure out who’s doing it before she ends up with the same fate.

THERE MAY BE SPOILERS PAST THE POINT! PROCEED AT YOUR OWN RISK!

To be totally honest, I found this book by an accident. It was the summer of 2014 , and I was searching for a certain book in an ebook store and accidently typed something in weird. Throne of Glass popped up, and I was like hey, that looks neat! I clicked on it to read what it was about, and was totally hooked. I immediately downloaded it and started reading. Now, it was 9 o’clock at night when I discovered this lovely book. I started reading it and couldn’t set it down. I stood up until 4:00 in the morning reading it because it was so dang amazing. I have lost my ability to even after I finsished the book.

I wasn’t too bothered with the fact that there was a love triangle in the story because Celaena didn’t make such a big deal about who to choose.

One thing I liked about Throne of Glass was the characters, notably Celaena. I find that in a lot of books with female assassins, they have no femininity in them. They’re basically a male in a female body, but Celaena isn’t like that. Although she’s fierce, she also loves dresses and fancy trinkets. Even though she can be ruthless, she also has a soft heart. I could connect with her more because she has that human element in her.

The story keeps you at the edge of your seat. It’s not too fast or too slow, and there are some twists and turns that will leave you with your mouth hanging open.

If you haven’t read this series, what are you doing? Go out there and GET IT NOW! You must read it! Right now! Yes, right this instant! Did you get it yet? You better have.

Leave a Reply

