The Wrath and the Dawn

“What are you doing to me, you plague of a girl?” he whispered.
“If I’m a plague, then you should keep your distance, unless you plan on being destroyed.” The weapons still in her grasp, she shoved against his chest.
“No.” His hands dropped to her waist. “Destroy me.”

wrathcover
The Wrath and the Dawn by Renée Ahdieh is a retelling of A Thousand and One Nights. The Caliph of Khorasan (a.k.a. the king of the land), Khalid, takes a wife every night only to have her killed at dawn. After her best friend was killed like the rest of the wives, Shahrzad forms a plan to avenge her. She volunteers to become the Caliph’s next wife. In order to ensure that she’ll live to see another day, Shahrzad tells Khalid a story every night only to end it at dawn, leaving the boy-king breathless to know what was going to happen next.

Shahrzad’s plan goes smoothly, except for one thing: Khalid wasn’t what she expected. How could she kill him if she starting to fall for him?

Click here for its Goodreads page.

WARNING: THERE MAY BE SPOILERS PAST THIS POINT. PROCEED AT YOUR OWN RISK!

image

I heard so many great things about this book ever since it was released. I thought that it was just the hype, so I waited awhile for it die down. It hasn’t yet. Everyone was still raving about how good this book was, and the ratings were really high on Goodreads.

And now I understand why.

I never read A Thousand and One Nights before, but I knew the premise before starting this book.

In the beginning of the story, I shipped Tariq + Shazi. They were the childhood sweethearts. Honestly, I’m not sure how I feel about the love triangle that was going on. I mean, now I totally ship Shazi + Khalid, but I have no idea what to think about Tariq. He’s just… yeah. I really have no idea what to think about him. He’s just there.

Khalid, on the other hand, is amazing. At first, you want to hate him for causing so much pain to these families and to Shazi, but as the story progresses, your starts heart melts in a puddle of gooey happiness. You simply can not hate him. No matter how much you want to.

I admire the strength and bravery in Shazi. She’s the type of person who dives in head-first and gives support to those around her. She the strong, supportive friend you want when something goes wrong in your life. She might be a little bit reckless, but that’s what makes her who she is.

I was surprised that Shazi was about to be executed. I thought at first it was the orders of Khalid, but then it turned out to be the general. Khalid was actually the one to stop the execution and save Shazi. Yay for heroism.

As for Shazi’s dad… Um… Yeah. He’s the type of person where you keep an eye on because you thing that they’re going crazy. Which in a way, he did.

One thing I didn’t like in this book in particular is that it doesn’t really talk about the magic within Shazi. It mentions it once or twice, but there wasn’t much about it throughout the whole book. I’m hope that it’s going to come up more often in the next books in this series, because I’m intrigued to see what it can do.

Honestly, I love this book so much it’s kind of scary. I had to force myself to stop fangirling over it when I finished because no one in my family could understand me.

image

I rate this book 5 / 5 BBC Sherlock characters! If you haven’t already read it, then you’re definitely missing out!

image

Until next time….

11 thoughts on “The Wrath and the Dawn

  1. thesassygeek 01/14/2016 / 9:40 pm

    Yay! I’m so glad you liked this one! Honestly I can’t imagine why anyone wouldn’t like it, I’m not even a big romance fan and I fangirled so much! I agree with you on Shazi and Khalid, you want to hate Khalid but he just wins you over throughout the book and then you end up shipping them so hard. By the way I love your rating system, it’s funny and awesome! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jessica 01/14/2016 / 10:45 pm

      I know right! It’s impossible to not fangirl over this book. Shazi + Khalid for the win!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Ashleigh 01/14/2016 / 11:51 pm

    I loved this book too 🙂 I didn’t ever like Tariq though, he was always just hanging around, getting in the way of my ship. Even at the start I just didn’t care about him, despite the cute backstory between them. And then there’s Shazi’s dad who’s just…I don’t even know what he was doing actually. But Shazi and Khalid are everything ❤ I can't wait for the next book!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jessica 01/15/2016 / 12:16 am

      I totally agree about Tariq. After I started shipping Shazi and Khalid, he was like a persistent gnat (not that he’s a bug or anything 😄 )

      Liked by 1 person

  3. bookedsolid1989 01/15/2016 / 2:40 pm

    Ah you’ve made me want to read it even more now! Great review! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  4. poppyonkirrinisland 01/17/2016 / 12:18 pm

    I’ve heard a lot about this book but I still haven’t read it!! After reading the spoiler-free part of your review, I’ve realized that I definitely need to get a copy! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Richard 01/19/2016 / 1:16 pm

    I bought this the other week given all the hype and great reviews people have given and this review has just added to my urge to pick it up! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jessica 01/19/2016 / 10:19 pm

      You should definitely read this. Hope you love it as much as I did! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

