A Court of Thorns and Roses

He brushed the hair from my face. I shook him off. “I suppose it’ll be easier if I’m gone,” I said, looking away from him. “Who wants someone around who’s so covered in thorns?”

16096824

Title: A Court of Thorns and Roses
Series: A Court of Thorns and Roses, #1
Author: Sarah J. Maas
Published: May 5, 2015
Edition: Hardcover
Pages: 416

A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas is a fairytale retelling of Beauty and the Beast but with faeries. Feyre (Fey-ruh) is hunting to fill the bellies of her family when she kills a wolf. That evening, monster-like creatures whisk her away from her retched family to Prythian, the land of the Fae, for her actions. A life for a life, they said. But instead of killing her, they keep her at the estate of the Spring High Lord, Tamlin.

As Feyre spends more time with the Fae, she learns that there are more to them than she realizes. Especially when Tamlin’s cold exterior melts.

When a dark creature arises, Feyre has to stop it before it destroys everything she knows and loves.

WARNING: THERE ARE SPOILERS BEYOND THIS POINT. PROCEED AT YOUR OWN RISK. 

image

I reread this book to refresh my memory before the second book is released in May.

Honestly, I shouldn’t even need to make a review. Everything that Sarah J. Maas writes is perfection.

I’m not sure if I ship Tamlin + Feyre or Rhysand + Feyre more. I ship them both so hard.

tumblr_m5h32oa5if1qg9f9k

It’s weird, because I normally ship the protagonist with one character if there’s  a love triangle. I never ship them with both of the people, but for some reason, I’m doing just that.

Sarah J. Maas wrecks me. Everything she writes is magical and makes me do things I normally never do (in a good way).

I’m curious to see how the relationship between Rhysand and Feyre play out in the next book. With the deal that they made during the trials, the story will take an interesting turn in events.

Speaking of Rhysand, I wanted to hate him when he first made an entrance in the story. I could tell that he was trouble with a capital T, but as the story progressed, most of the things he did to Feyre was for her benefit. And you can’t be mad at someone like that. You just can’t.

Dang it Sarah J. Maas, what are you doing to me?

One of my favorite parts in the story was when Tamlin and Lucien admit that Fae can lie. I laughed so much at the irony of it.

Amarantha (how the heck do you pronounce this name?) reminds me of a spoiled child. Honestly, she hates it when things don’t go her way. And she throws a major temper tantrum when Feyre defeats her. She may be old in age, and clever in experience, but dang, her attitude sucks.

Tamlin reminds me a little bit of Rowan from the Throne of Glass series. He loves Feyre so much and would go to hell and back just to save her. And technically, he did.

You know in a lot of fantasy novels where the protagonist suddenly finds themselves in someone else’s kingdom, and the first people they befriend are their maid and the friend of the ruler who just happens to be their love of their life? Yup. This book was no exception. Not that I’m complaining or anything. The banters between Lucien and Feyre make me smile.

To be completely honest, this book seemed more like a cross between Beauty and the Beast and Cinderella. Sort of. In the beginning, Feyre has to do all the hard word in the family and none of her two sisters do anything to help. Her father is unable to help because of his broken knee. On the other hand, there’s a beast with a curse where someone completely opposite of him has to fall in love with in before time runs out.

image

I rate this book 5 / 5 BBC Sherlock characters. I loved it, and I NEED MORE. If you liked Throne of Glass, then you’re probably going to like this. The premises aren’t similar, but the world and characters are just as great as the ones in the TOG series.

image

image

Until next time….

2 thoughts on “A Court of Thorns and Roses

Leave a Reply

