Book Buying Habits Tag

image

I wasn’t tagged by anyone, but because I’m on a book buying ban right now, I decided  why the heck not.

image

Where do you buy your books?

Bookstores like Barnes & Noble and Half Price Books and online on Amazon, B&N.com, and Book Outlet.

Do you ever pre-order books and if so, do you do this online or in stores?

On a very rare occasion that I pre-order a book, and it would be on Amazon.

On average, how many books do you buy a month?

One to four books (?) a month. Honestly, I never kept up with how many books I buy ever month until recently.

Do you read at your local library?

I don’t spend time at my local library to read, if that’s what your asking. I go there to check out books, then go back home to read it in my bed.

If so, how many books can/do you borrow at a time?

The librarian said that I can check out a total of 99 books (I’m not joking) when I first got my library card. Now, I don’t have enough time to check out and read 99 books in two weeks. I normally check out one or two novels and a couple graphic novels.

What is your opinion about library books?

I love them! They’re great if you want to read a book but you’re not sure you want to go out and buy it. Also, if you read a book in a series and don’t plan on buying the rest of them, you can just check it out from the library.

How do you feel about second hand books?

Same thing with libraries, if I just want to get a feel for a series or I’m not sure I want to buy a new copy, I can just get a cheaper, used version of the book. Most of the time, the used copies are in good condition.

Do you keep your read/TBR pile together on the same bookshelf or not?

No. I put all the books I’ve read/don’t plan to read on my bookshelf. My TBR books are on my desk, shaming me every day that I haven’t read them.

Do you plan to read all of the books that you own?

That depends. The books I own but don’t plan to read I either give away or sell at a used bookstore. I still have a couple books I need to sell. So, my answer to this question is yes and no.

What do you do with books that you own that you feel you will never read/felt you did not enjoy?

I either give them to people that I think will enjoy it more than I did, or sell it.

Have you ever donated books?

As a child, there was this program where you can donate books that you weren’t going to read, and my family and I participated every year until we moved.

Have you ever been on a book buying ban?

I’m in one right now. I just bought three hardcovers online and now I have too many books that I own but haven’t read.

Do you feel like you buy too many books?

One cannot own too many books.

image

Until next time….

2 thoughts on “Book Buying Habits Tag

  1. samfalston 02/11/2016 / 7:03 am

    I’m on a book buying ban as well. (for the whole year!) I got lots of books over Christmas and also have heaps I haven’t read. There is also a pretty good library near my house 🙂 How long is your ban for?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jessica 02/11/2016 / 1:04 pm

      Wow! Good luck on your ban. I’m trying to read at least five books before I buy more, but I’m not sure that’s going to happen XD

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

