Dead of Winter

“I’ve wrought my family’s destruction. Killed those I loved most, with my very touch. My dark precipice has been reached. I throw back my head and roar as recognition takes hold. I am Death…”

ATTENTION: THIS IS A SPOILER-FREE, QUICK REVIEW

18746546

Title: Dead of Winter
Series: The Arcana Chronicles, #3
Author: Kresley Cole
Published: January 6, 2015
Edition: Hardcover
Pages: 303

Because this is the third book in this series, I’m going to link its Goodreads page as well as that of the first book so there won’t be any accidental spoilers.

Poison Princess (#1): Goodreads page
Dead of Winter (#3): Goodreads page

image

I started the series because it seemed interesting enough, but it wasn’t as enjoyable as I thought it would be. The first book was your typical love triangle, post-apocalyptic young adult book. But it goes downhill from there. You hate love triangles? Well, you’re not going to like this series AT ALL, because all Evie (the protagonist) does in wonder who she should choose. First she likes Jack, then she likes Death. And then Jack again. And then Death. It gets old, quick.

I looked on Goodreads, and it seems as though this series is going to be have books. To be completely honest, unless Kresley Cole is about to drop some kind of literary bomb in the series, I think it could have ended with three books. Yes, some issues haven’t been resolved, and yes, it ended at a cliffhanger, but I lost interest in the plot to the point I don’t care what happens next. I do want to know who Evie chooses in the end, but I’m not going to put myself through two more books of “Oh woe is me! Who should I choose?”

Rant over.

Anyway, this book was a little darker than I expected. Actually, scratch that. This book was a lot darker than I expected. I thought that this series would be your typical love-triangle story, but it’s a lot creepier than that. Some of the characters are just… *shudder*

On the bright side, there are some good characters. Like Finn. He’s pretty cool. He’s the Leo Valdez of the group. Super skilled and helpful with a dash of humor.

I guess one of the reasons why I didn’t enjoy this book as much as I thought I would was because I read the second book about a year ago. I didn’t remember much from the previous books before I started this one.

image

I rate this book 2.5 / 5 stars. I didn’t partially enjoy this one.

image

image

Until next time….

image

Leave a Reply

