Obsidian (Lux, #1) by Jennifer L. Armentrout | Book Review

image

Title: Obsidian
Series: Lux, #1
Author: Jennifer L. Armentrout
Published: May 8, 2012
Edition: ebook
Pages: 294
My Rating: 5/5
Goodreads page

 

ATTENTION: This is a spoiler-free review

image

Synopsis

Starting over sucks.

When we moved to West Virginia right before my senior year, I’d pretty much resigned myself to thick accents, dodgy internet access, and a whole lot of boring… until I spotted my hot neighbor, with his looming height and eerie green eyes. Things were looking up.

And then he opened his mouth.

Daemon is infuriating. Arrogant. Stab-worthy. We do not get along. At all. But when a stranger attacks me and Daemon literally freezes time with a wave of his hand, well, something… unexpected happens.

The hot alien living next door marks me.

You heard me. Alien. Turns out Daemon and his sister have a galaxy of enemies wanting to steal their abilities, and Daemon’s touch has me lit up like the Vegas Strip. The only way I’m getting out of this alive is by sticking close to Daemon until my alien mojo fades.

If I don’t kill him first, that is.

(This synopsis is from Goodreads.)

image

Plot

It’s been a while since I’ve finished this book so bear with me here if most of this doesn’t make sense.

Katy is the new girl that moves into this small town in West Virginia.

The whole book is in Katy’s point of view. Unlike a lot of girls in her position, she isn’t  whiny. She’s quite the opposite. She strong and doesn’t take shit from Daemon.

Who happens to be her next door neighbor.

Daemon tries to distance Dee and himself from Katy to protect themselves and their secret. Against Daemon’s warnings, Dee becomes close friends to Katy. Daemon obviously doesn’t approve of this and tries to break them up.

That didn’t go so well.

Dee has to force Daemon to play nice with Katy and make up for the hurtful things he’s done to her. Despite his efforts to remain emotionless, Daemon starts to fall for Katy and visa versa.

It’s kind of cute, actually (minus the fact that Daemon is a huge asshole to Katy in the throughout the story).

Arums, the alien’s enemy, start to attack Katy (because of this “trace” Daemon accidently put on her) to try and find Daemon and the other aliens.

There was a lot of badassery that happened in this book, and it was amazing. Not only does this story have a book blogger, but there’s a great romance and action.

image

Characters

Katy “Kat” Swartz

She’s a book lover and book blogger just like I am. She’s the only child of widowed Kellie Swartz. Her dad died of cancer. She’s strong, and has a big heart. Honestly, she’s the type of person who I’d love to be friends with. Is that weird? I would love to be friends with Katy.

Daemon Black

This asshole-ish alien tries to push Katy away. He takes care of his sister, Dee, the best way an older brother can do. He genuinely cares for his family and friends, but are also very protected over them. I don’t blame him.

Despite his hurtful actions, I can’t help but have the feels when he does something nice to Katy.

Dee Black

She’s super outgoing and wants to be friends with Katy. However, Daemon constantly warns her about befriending humans and the dangers that could bring to both the aliens and to the humans. She’s not scared to be herself in front of others, even though she has to hide her alien side. She’s also someone I would love to be friends with. Her bubbly personality and infectious smile could brighten the whole room.

image

Conclusion

I give this book 5 / 5 Sherlock heads. I loved this book so much even though it took me a couple months to read.

image

 

image

Until next time….

image

3 thoughts on “Obsidian (Lux, #1) by Jennifer L. Armentrout | Book Review

  1. mugglebooks 05/23/2016 / 2:50 pm

    Omg! I cannot wait to read Lux Series! The books have been sitting on my tbr shelf far too long 🙊

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jessica 05/23/2016 / 8:59 pm

      Read it read it read it! It’s sooooo good 😀

      Like

Leave a Reply

