Top 10 Tuesday: Ten Reasons I Love the A Court of Thorns and Roses series by Sarah J. Maas

Hey guys! I’m starting another meme on Tuesdays because I’m such a slow reader and I can only make so many teasers with the books I’m currently reading.

I’m going to be alternating between the Top Ten Tuesday meme and the Teaser Tuesday meme, if that makes any sense.

This meme is hosted by the Broke and the Bookish. This week’s topic is ten reasons why I love X. I chose to talk about the ACOTAR series because I recently finished the second book and I can’ stop thinking about it!

These reasons are in my particular order, but just warning you, I tried to sound reasonable while writing this post but there’s some extreme fangirling in this post. Some of the reasons overlap, but that’s okay. Right?

ATTENTION: There are no spoilers of neither ACOTAR nor ACOMAF in this post.

image

The Covers

This reason is purely personal preference, but seriously, the covers are GORGEOUS!

Just look at them!

16096824

Props to whoever designed these because if not for the story, I would buy these books just because of their beautiful covers.

They say don’t judge a book by it’s cover, but I still do it anyway. It’s kind of a form of advertisement, if you will. If the cover is eye-catching and seems interesting, I’ll pick up the book to see what it’s about. If the cover is really bad, then I’ll automatically assume that the story inside is bad as well unless I heard otherwise.

Character Development

All of the main characters develop so much throughout the story and makes them seem more human… Even though they aren’t human…

The Characters Themselves

Okay. I don’t love all the characters. I love MOST of them. Some of the characters I absolutely hate, but they aren’t crappy characters, if that makes any sense at all. All of the characters have complexity to them that unravels itself after every book.

The Ships!

That’s pretty self-explanatory. I love the ships that are happening right now. No, not the ships that go out to sea. I’m talking about relationSHIPS. The romance between certain characters makes me want to melt into a puddle of happy goo.

Plot Twists

There are so many plot twists that I just never expect, and I LOVE that. It shows that anything could happen.

The World

It’s so well-constructed I could easily imagine the world. It’s complex, but simple enough that I don’t get things mixed up. The system with the seven courts and what they control makes sense.

The General Unpredictable-ness 

My normal experience with YA fantasy series is that the first book is amazing, but it goes downhill from there. However

The Story / Retelling

A lot of YA books, especially in the fantasy genre, have the same base story. This story, however, isn’t like most of your usual urban fantasy books. It has elements to it that I haven’t experienced often with other books. Same with the retelling. You can kind of see the elements of Beauty and the Beast in the story, but it is its own story. The fairy tale doesn’t control the story. The story controls the fairy tale.

The Battles

The battles are sit-at-the-edge-of-your-seat, about-to-have-a-heart-attack exciting. You don’t know who’s going to die or who’s going to win. Most of the times the odds are in the favor of the enemy and winning seemed almost impossible.

The Friendships

The friendship bond between some of the characters are unbreakable. It’s one of those friendships that will last a lifetime. They go through crap together, and support each other while doing so. If one of them is in trouble, the others are the first ones to offer help. You can’t ask for better friends than that.

image

Until next time….

image

Leave a Reply

