Top 5 Wednesday: Favorite Character Names

image

Top 5 Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Sam @ Thoughts on Tomes and created by Lainey @ Ginger Reads Lainey. You can check out the group’s Goodreads page to join and check out the topics of the month.

This Week’s Topic: Favorite Character Names

It’s pretty self-explanatory. I’m going to pick my top five favorite character names and explain why they’re my favorites. Most of the reasons why I like the names that I chose is because it fits the character so well. Plus, I like the characters themselves and that makes me like their names.

image R. F. Jackaby (Jackaby series by William Ritter)

The name is quirky, just like the character. It’s also a little bit mysterious, just like the owner of the name. The main character, Abigail Rook keeps on asking what the “R” and the “F” in his name stands for, but he never tells her. Jackaby is a very unusual name. It’s unique. It’s… different. All the listed adjectives are ones I would describe Mr. Jackaby himself, and that’s why I love the name so much. It perfectly describes the character without a whole bunch of words.

 

Celaena Sardothian (Throne of Glass series by Sarah J. Maas)

Sarah J. Maas is the master of coming up with majestic names that fit the characters. Celaena Sardothian is the world’s most dangerous assassin. Her name just rolls off the tongue, and it feels powerful just saying it. Maybe I’m being a tad bit biased because I really love this series and anything by this author.

 

Azriel (A Court of Thorns and Roses series by Sarah J. Maas)

Okay. I admit it. I’m totally being biased right now. Azriel is introduced in the second book, but I promise no spoilers. All you need to know is like all the other character names by Sarah J. Maas, I can’t think of a better name for him. Azriel is a name that just screams darkness and power. And that’s exactly what Azriel is like.

 

Daemon Black (Lux series by Jennifer L. Armentrout)

Daemon Black is a over-confident, over-protective, over-hot alien, and his name reflects that. I feel like most of the people named Daemon are good looking and are super self-assured but secretly really nice. You know what I mean? A lot of names have certain characteristics that are associated with them, and Daemon is always used for a dark, brooding, hot male that has a bad exterior but a good interior.

 

Tyrannus Basilton “Baz” Pitch (Carry On by Rainbow Rowell)

I love this name just because it’s a long, old-timey sounding name. Baz is from an old family, so of course they give him an old name. The name makes him sound like he’s a spoiled child, and Baz uses that as a front to hide who and what he’s really like.

 
image

Until next time….

image

One thought on “Top 5 Wednesday: Favorite Character Names

Leave a Reply

