Birthstone Book Tag

image

It’s been over a month now since I was by tagged by DrAwkto over at Inky Awkto and now I am finally posting this. Thanks so much for tagging me! Make sure to check out his blog. It’s amazing!

Basically, I have to match a book to each birthstone. For someone who really loves reading horoscopes, I’m going to have too much fun with this.

I’m going to try and not use the same series/book for each answer, but I can’t guarantee anything.

image

Garnet (January): Associated with warding off negative forces and dark energies. – Name a book with the darkest/evilest character you can think of.


There’s only one person that has earned this title, and it’s Dolores Umbridge from Harry Potter. She’s one mean witch, if you know what I’m talking about.

Amethyst (February): Purple is associated with royalty. – Name a book with regal qualities. You can base this off of characters or choose the King of all books.

THRONE OF GLASS! End of story.

Just kidding.

The Throne of Glass series is very royal. Some of the characters are royalty. It has regal qualities. The book is suspenseful, exciting, and action-packed. The world and the characters enhance the story. It’s one of the best series I’ve ever read in my life, which makes it one of the kings of all books, I guess.

Aquamarine (March): Washed Out. – Name a ‘wishy washy’ character. A character who is not strong or a follower.

Diamond (April): A Diamond in the rough. – Named a book that you loved, but that is not well known.

I don’t know why, but Jackaby by William Ritter isn’t really well known.  It’s an amazing book. It’s a cross between Sherlock and Buffy the Vampire Slayer/Dr. Who, according to the book. I never watched Dr. Who, and I only watched a little bit of Buffy the Vampire Slayer before homework called my name.

Emerald (May): Said to balance energy. – Name two characters who balance each other well.

Simon and Penny from Carry On by Rainbow Rowell

Julian and Emma from Lady Midnight by Cassandra Clare

Sherlock and John from The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle

Kady and Ezra from Illuminae by Amie Kaufman & Jay Kristoff

(just to name a few)

Pearl (June): Associated with loyalty. – Name a character who is loyal to the end.

Levi from Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell was loyal to Cath through all the hardships she went through. Cath’s relationship with her family was crumbling, but despite the situation, Levi was always there to support and help her. It was so freaking cute and I’m fangirling just thinking about them.

Ruby (July): Blood red. – Name a book that made your blood boil, one that made you angry.

In The Young Elites by Marie Lu,  Adelina, the main character, was so annoying. She made all her decisions based on her emotions and not with her brain and it costed both her and the ones she cares about dearly. Seriously, you’d think that after about the third time she would learn her lesson but NOPE! She just continues to involuntarily hurt the people around her.

Peridot (August): Pale green (it pales in comparison to other gems). – Name a supporting character who you like better than the main character.

In the Heroes of Olympus series, I liked Leo Valdez more than Jason Grace. It’s not like I hated Jason, it’s just that I liked Leo much, much more.  Leo had more… character, if you will. He did a lot for the team, even though they didn’t give him enough credit. He’s just a great dude.

Sapphire (September): Blue like the ocean which is calming. – Name a book that had a calming effect on you.

 

 

 

 

 

I don’t think there’s a book that makes me calm. If I really like a certain book, I’ll start fangirling, and that’s the opposite of being calm. However, books like The Book Thief by Markus Zusak, All the Light We Cannot See by Anthony Doerr, and This Star Won’t Go Out by Esther Earl have a sobering effect on me. I wouldn’t nessesarily say that they’re “calming” but sobering is close enough, right?

Opal (October): Iridescent. – Name an iridescent book, this can be a book with a beautiful cover (Shiny? Lots of colour?) or you can base it of a character (Quirky? Colourful?)


Lila from A Darker Shade of Magic by V.E. Schwab is quite a… colorful character. She’s just her own world. Her life is full of exciting adventure, and she takes each challenge in her path with stride. Her rough childhood didn’t dull the world in her eyes. In fact, it made it much brighter. She sees obstacles as opportunities, and danger as adventure.

Topaz (November): Associated with resilience. – Name a book with a character who rises to the top in a time of adversity.

I could probably name almost any YA fantasy, sci-fi, or dystopian book… but I’m going to choose Vin from the Mistborn trilogy by Brandon Sanderson because she was a street urchin in the beginning and later turned into one of the most powerful Mistborns alive.

Blue Zircon (December): Associated with friendship. – Name a book with a friendship you want to be a part of.

One friendship squad that I always wanted to be part of was the Harry Potter squad because… you know… It’s freaking Harry Potter. I cannot make a post without mentioning Harry Potter at least once unless I really tried.

image

I tag…

Erin @ Quillable

Heather @ The Sassy Book Geek

Windie @ Geek Apprentice

Emma @ Wandering Words

Michelle @ Book Adventures

and you! If  you want to do this tag, considered yourself tagged!

(If you have already done this tag or don’t want to do it, feel free to ignore this.)

image

Until next time….

image

4 thoughts on “Birthstone Book Tag

  1. jess1606 06/10/2016 / 4:51 pm

    What a fun tag! I loved reading your pairings!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. DrAwkto 06/19/2016 / 11:35 pm

    Loved your answers for the tag! I like how you even got an image of all the birthstones! It’s pretty.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

