Onyx (Lux, #2) by Jennifer L. Armentrout | Book Review

image

Title: Onyx
Series: Lux, #2
Author: Jennifer L. Armentrout
Published: Aug. 14, 2012
Edition: ebook
Pages: 416
My Rating: 4.5/5
Goodreads page

ATTENTION: This review contains spoilers from the first book, Obsidian, and minor spoilers about the new characters in Onyx.

image

Synopsis

Being connected to Daemon Black sucks…

Thanks to his alien mojo, Daemon’s determined to prove what he feels for me is more than a product of our bizarro connection. So I’ve sworn him off, even though he’s running more hot than cold these days. But we’ve got bigger problems.

Something worse than the Arum has come to town…

The Department of Defense are here. If they ever find out what Daemon can do and that we’re linked, I’m a goner. So is he. And there’s this new boy in school who’s got a secret of his own. He knows what’s happened to me and he can help, but to do so, I have to lie to Daemon and stay away from him. Like that’s possible. Against all common sense, I’m falling for Daemon. Hard.

But then everything changes…

I’ve seen someone who shouldn’t be alive. And I have to tell Daemon, even though I know he’s never going to stop searching until he gets the truth. What happened to his brother? Who betrayed him? And what does the DOD want from them—from me?

No one is who they seem. And not everyone will survive the lies…

(This synopsis is from Goodreads.)

image

Thoughts

Daemon + Katy. I need to think of a ship name for them. Daty? Katmon? Daemy? I dunno. None of them sound good.

Anywho….

It’s been awhile since I’ve read this book, so bear with me here.

In the first book, Obsidian, Daemon acts like he hates Katy. Now, in Onyx, his true feelings come out and it’s the most adorable thing ever. I ship Daemon and Katy so much it hurts.

However, Katy believes (with good reason) that Daemon only loves her now that there’s a bond between them.

Daemon was then like: CHALLENGE ACCEPTED!

Despite what she believes, Katy starts falling for Daemon because, come on, it’s Daemon. You can’t not fall in love with him. He can be a butthole sometimes but he’s super sweet and caring behind the façade.

But that doesn’t mean Katy will immediately admit her love to Daemon.

In comes the new kid at the school, Blake.

(^^ If you haven’t watched the substitute teacher video by Key & Peele you’ve got to watch it. It’s hilarious!)

He’s super nice, and Katy, being the person that she is, befriends him. It’s kind of like the whole the old new kid befriends the new new kid. Is that even a thing?

Anyway, Katy uses Blake as an excuse to pretend to not like Daemon, but I’m not sure if she actually had feelings for Blake or if it was just a friendship. I think Katy had feelings for Blake, but they weren’t as strong as her feelings for Daemon.

It isn’t really like a love triangle. Blake isn’t trying to win over Katy, and Katy isn’t really torn between the two boys anyway. Blake is like a little bump in the road. He doesn’t have any chance against Daemon, let’s be honest.

Things start happening to Katy. Important things. Things I can’t talk about because SPOILERS. Let’s just say that the Department of Defense (DOD) start to becoming more involved. That’s all I’m going to say.

image

Characters

Katy “Kat” Swartz

Like most protagonists in YA stories, Katy has a lot of her shoulders. Being newly mutated, Katy doesn’t know what the heck is happening to her and starts to freak a little. I don’t blame her.

Daemon Black

When Daemon was all like I’m going to prove my love to you to Katy, it’s the best thing ever. They’re so freaking cute together. And all the things he did to prove that he loved her…. *fangirls*

Dee Black

She’s going through a very tough time. I don’t blame her for the way she reacts, but dang, it was pretty harsh.

Dawson Black

Despite everything he goes through, Dawson stays strong. Sure, he was broken when he first arrived, but he got better quicker than normal human being. Well… minus the fact that he isn’t a normal human being. But yeah. He’s cool.

Blake Saunders

Um… I don’t know what to think of him. So many mixed feelings.

Will

He seems nice enough. He starts dating Katy’s mom, and Mrs. Swartz seems happy again. He’s kind and caring to Katy. What’s not to like?

image

Conclusion

I give this book 4.5 / 5 BBC Sherlock heads. Daemon and Kat are so freaking cute together I can’t even right now.

image

image

Until next time….

image

Leave a Reply

