Top 5 Wednesday: Favorite Books Outside of my Comfort Zone

image

Top 5 Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Sam @ Thoughts on Tomes and created by Lainey @ Ginger Reads Lainey. You can check out the group’s Goodreads page to join and check out the topics of the month.

This Week’s Topic: Favorite books outside of my comfort zone

I don’t really read a lot of books outside my comfort zone. I like being comfortable. I like reading fantasy books because that’s what I’m comfortable with. However, I wasn’t disappointed the very few times that I stepped out of my comfort zone and tried something new.

image

 milk and honey by Rupi Kaur

I haven’t read a poetry book before (aside from Shel Silverstein’s books), so reading milk and honey by Rupi Kaur was a new experience for me. Reading about serious topics scare me. It forces me to realize that it’s a real thing, and that things like rape and sexual abuse happen to everyday people. However, Rupi Kaur’s beautiful poetry opened my eyes to those topics without feeling… I don’t know. It left me speechless (in a good way), and I still can’t form words to explain this book.

A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness

Just by looking at its cover, this book looks like some kind of horror story (and I hate anything remotely creedy). However, I heard so many great things about this book, I decided to give it a try.

It wasn’t scary at all. It was more bittersweet than anything. Not a lot of books make me cry, but I was sobbing at the end of this story. It’s so beautiful, yet tragic.

Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children (Miss Peregrine’s Peculiar Children) by Ransom Riggs

Like A Monster Calls, I refused to read this book because the cover suggested that it was scary/creepy. I finally decided to overcome my fear of scary books and give it a try after a couple of years of constant pestering from my friend.

The photos inside the book may look a bit creepy, but the story itself isn’t. I was actually a little sad that I didn’t start the series earlier.

Furiously Happy: A Funny Book About Horrible Things by Jenny Lawson

I like to read fantasy. Scratch that. I LOVE to read fantasy. It’s all that I read, really. So when I was told to read a biography for my English class, I groaned in the inside. I hadn’t had the best experience with non-fiction books, so I thought reading one would be slow and painful.

This book, wasn’t (thankfully). This might be the first biography I’ve actually enjoyed reading. Jenny Lawson is a little crazy, but in a good way. It had me laughing the whole way through.

Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone (Harry Potter, #1) by J. K. Rowling

Surprised?

At the time when I first started the series, I didn’t like reading that much, so of course this was out of my comfort zone. The series loozed super long, and there were going to be scary battles and creatures.

Once I started the series, I couldn’t put it down. I don’t know a single person who read the series and didn’t love it.

image

Until next time….

image

5 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday: Favorite Books Outside of my Comfort Zone

  1. Anna @MyBookishDream 07/06/2016 / 1:58 pm

    I really want to read Furiously Happy – it’s outside my comfort zone as well (as I also read loads of fantasy and actually no non fiction) but I have been hearing nothing but amazing things about it, so I want to give it a shot! 🙂 Great list!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Lauren Busser 07/06/2016 / 2:14 pm

    I want to read Furiously Happy as well. I only read the first few pages and I laughed hysterically.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

