Top Ten Tuesday: Things Books Made Me Want to Do/Learn

This meme is hosted by Broke and the Bookish. Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme where you choose your top ten picks based on a topic.

This week’s topic: things books made me want to do or learn about after reading them

The topic is pretty self-explanatory. I have to find 10 things books made me want to try / learn about after I finished reading them.

image

Archery (The Hunger Games trilogy by Suzanna Collins)

After reading this series, I really wanted to become an archer. The movie adaptations just fed my wanting even more.Β I have done archery a couple times here and there for fun, but I wasn’t any good at it. I’ve only hit the bull’s-eye once, and I hope I can do it again.

Magic (Harry Potter series by J.K. Rowling)

harry-potter-montage

Admittedly, to much of my dismay, I can’t do magic. Not like the wizarding world does. Such disappointment. I’m still waiting for my letter from Hogwarts though.

World War II (The Book Thief by Markus Zusak)

19063

I was always fascinated by WWII as a child, but this book made my fascination grow even further. There are so many things to learn about WWII and how it affected the world after it was over. This book just added to my fascination.

Fighting with daggers/weapons (Throne of Glass series by Sarah J. Maas / Mistborn trilogy by Brandon Sanderson)

image

Like magic, I don’t think I would be able to learn this. Not because I don’t want to, but because I don’t need to. Plus, where would I find someone to teach me how to use the dagger? And in what situation would I use a dagger? Let’s just hope I don’t get in a situation where I might need one. However, despite all that, I would still love to have the knowledge of how to use one.

Magic tricks (Six of Crows series by Leigh Bardugo)

IMG_4551-0

Yes. Seriously. I want to learn how to do magic tricks because of this book. End of story.

Greek mythology (Percy Jackson and the Olympians series by Rick Riordan)

This shouldn’t be a surprise. I’m pretty sure a lot of people who read this series wanted to learn more about Greek mythology because of it. I’ll admit that I’m one of those people. Who cares? I passed the Greek mythology unit in my English class a couple years ago because of this series.

Fancy dresses (The Selection series by Kiera Cass)

800e7-the-selection-collage

I’m not one to like wearing dresses. I only wear them if it’s absolutely nessessary. However, after seeing the covers of this series (and reading the books, of course), I want to try on some of these dresses. I mean, look at them! They’re so gorgeous! What girl (or maybe even guy) wouldn’t want to try one of those dresses on?

Rewatch the Sherlock TV show (Jackaby series by William Ritter)

image

Yes. I rewatched the Sherlock TV show on BBC because this series reminded me so much of it that I wanted to watch it again.

Try digital art (A Court of Thorns and Roses series by Sarah J. Maas)

image

This is more about the author herself rather than the content of herΒ series. I believe on Twitter I saw that Sarah J. Maas retweeted this artist’s pictures. Now, these pictures were posted on Tumblr, and I wanted to follow this person and look at all her artwork so I made a Tumblr account. From there, I browsed all the ACOTAR / TOG fanart and that’s what got me to try digital art.

Read more books with parallel worlds (A Darker Shade of Magic by V.E. Schwab)

V.E. Schwab is a writing genius. I don’t know how she does it, but I only read one of her books and am already hooked. I NEED MORE V.E. SCHWAB.

Anyway, after I read A Darker Shade of Magic, I was curious to see how other authors write parallel worlds/universes. I have yet to read another book with parallel worlds, but I’ll hopefully get to one soon.
image

Until next time….

image

9 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Things Books Made Me Want to Do/Learn

    • Jessica 07/26/2016 / 3:11 pm

      Yes! It’s an under-hyped series that deserves more attention. If you like Sherlock, then you would definitely enjoy Jackaby!

      Liked by 1 person

  1. @lynnsbooks 07/26/2016 / 8:11 pm

    Leanring more about WWII is a great one. I’m always intrigued by it too. On a none book WW11 theme – Band of Brothers is absolutely amazing. Have you watched it?
    Lynn πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jessica 07/26/2016 / 9:05 pm

      No I haven’t but I’ll give it a try πŸ™‚

      Like

  2. booksncandies 07/26/2016 / 11:49 pm

    I’ve just read one post of your blog, but I’m already in love with! I love the idea of this post, by the way.. Gotta agree on The Throne of Glass series, I just finished the fourth book and got so caught up with wanting to play with weapons πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jessica 07/27/2016 / 12:08 am

      Thanks so much! You’re so sweet 😊

      Same here! I know it’s not a safe idea, but I wanted to play with weapons because I was deeply submerged into the Throne of Glass world. Can’t wait for the next book to come out (two more months, yikes!).

      Liked by 1 person

      • booksncandies 07/27/2016 / 12:17 am

        Yeah, who knows when evil will be ready to attack! :p
        Empire of Storms!! It’s going to be lit and epic, I’m really proud how Sarah J. Maas improved over the course of this series! πŸ˜€

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Samantha 07/27/2016 / 1:01 am

    Archery seems to be a popular choice. Also, digital art! That’s so cool. Seeing other people’s amazing work inspires me and makes me want to give it a try as well!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jessica 07/27/2016 / 2:15 am

      You should give it a try! Digital art isn’t bad once you get the hang of it πŸ™‚

      Like

Leave a Reply

