To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee | Book Review

image

Title: To Kill a Mockingbird
Series: n/a
Author: Harper Lee
Published: July 11, 1960
Edition: hardcover
Pages: 336
My Rating: 5 / 5
Goodreads page

ATTENTION: There are no spoilers in this view.

image

Synopsis

“Shoot all the bluejays you want, if you can hit ’em, but remember it’s a sin to kill a mockingbird.”

A lawyer’s advice to his children as he defends the real mockingbird of Harper Lee’s classic novel—a black man charged with the rape of a white girl. Through the young eyes of Scout and Jem Finch, Harper Lee explores with rich humor and unswerving honesty the irrationality of adult attitudes toward race and class in the Deep South of the 1930s. The conscience of a town steeped in prejudice, violence, and hypocrisy is pricked by the stamina and quiet heroism of one man’s struggle for justice—but the weight of history will only tolerate so much.

One of the best-loved classics of all time, To Kill a Mockingbird has earned many dis-tinctions since its original publication in 1960. It has won the Pulitzer Prize, been translated into more than forty languages, sold more than forty million copies worldwide, and been made into an enormously popular movie. It was also named the best novel of the twentieth century by librarians across the country (Library Journal). HarperCollins is proud to celebrate the fiftieth anniversary of the book’s publication with this special hardcover edition.

(This synopsis is from Goodreads.)

image

Thoughts

Just to put it out there, I would’ve enjoyed this story more if I didn’t have to annotate it. That was the only downside of reading this book.

There’s a lot of racism in this book. The author herself isn’t racist, but the story covers topics like racism and prejudice (technically, racism goes under the topic of prejudice, but I’m counting them as too different topics).

I don’t know what it is about this book that had such an impact on me, but it did. I guess I liked it because I could relate with some of the situations the characters were in. Harper Lee didn’t sugarcoat the reality of what happened on a daily basis back in the 1930s. Sadly, some of the conflicts that happened in the story still happens today.

Each character seemed human in my mind. Maybe it’s because I read too much fantasy, but I’m so used to seeing the protagonists unfazed and undefeatable (in other words,  not human) by anything. However, in this story, each character had flaws. Each character made mistakes. Each character did what humans do. I don’t know why it struck me so hard in the head, but I really liked that it did.

I don’t tend to read classics. They’re intimidating, and I’ve never had good experiences with any of them, especially the ones that I had to read for school. Thankfully, I really enjoyed To Kill a Mockingbird.  I now consider it one of my all-time favorites, but I could understand why some people didn’t enjoy it.

image

Characters

Jean Louise “Scout” Finch

She’s perceptive, but doesn’t understand the racism that’s going around her and doesn’t think it’s wrong until very later in the story.

Jeremy Atticus “Jem” Finch

He sees the injustice that happens around in Maycomb and it chips away at his heart little by little. I felt sorry for Jem at times.

Atticus Finch

Despite all the judgement he faces everyday for defending Tom Robinson, he still comes out of the trial a good man. And that’s that.

Charles Baker “Dill” Harris

I have no idea what to think of him.

Calpurnia

She’s pretty cool, despite what Scout thinks. She has a hint of badass in her.

Aunt Alexandra

Throughout the whole book, I was angry at Aunt Alexandra for being so prejudice. There were times where my heart went out for her, but very rarely.

Boo Radley

He’s also a pretty cool person.

Tom Robinson

His situation sucks. He is nothing but nice, but a couple of people ruins his life trying to throw him under the bus.

Mr. Bob Ewell

No. No. Absolutely no.

image

Conclusion

This book is one of my all-time favorites now. I give this book 5 / 5 Sherlock heads.

image

image

Until next time….

image

16 thoughts on “To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee | Book Review

    • Jessica 08/19/2016 / 5:56 pm

      I’ve heard mixed feelings about Go Set a Watchman, so I’m not sure if I want to read it or not at the moment…

      Liked by 1 person

      • After reading Go Set a Watchman, I was disappointed…. at first. I didn’t realize why Harper Lee did what she did with the novel until a few days later, and now I’m quite satisfied with the novel. Although I didn’t like it as much as To Kill a Mockingbird, it definitely is still a pretty good read, and I recommend you to try it out (if not now, then later!). xx

        Liked by 1 person

  1. TheQuirkyBookNerd 08/19/2016 / 5:26 pm

    Great review, Jessica! This is my favorite novel of all time! It always makes me so happy to see people reading it for the first time. So glad you enjoyed it 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jessica 08/19/2016 / 5:57 pm

      I was a bit skeptical at first, but I’m super glad I read it because it’s now also one of my fav novels of all time. 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  2. trust in tales 08/22/2016 / 5:30 am

    I have to admit, this story’s been sitting on my bookshelf for years. Sometimes I find the classics hard to begin because I know I’m going to have to buckle up for an attack of reality. You can’t get that lovely escapism that some books deliver, but I suppose your perspective on life always changes a little, and that’s important for your own development.

    Thanks for the great review!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jessica 08/22/2016 / 6:10 am

      I agree. Sometimes starting a classic is hard because of the slap of reality, but I think you should give To Kill a Mockingbird a try!
      Thanks! 😊

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Idle Muser 11/27/2016 / 11:26 pm

    I read it last month. Though it took initial few pages to create momentum for me, but then it was a smooth journey which I thoroughly enjoyed.
    You have got a decent and real good way of writing reviews. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jessica 11/28/2016 / 4:45 pm

      I also really enjoyed TKM. Thanks 😀

      Like

Leave a Reply

