Top 10 Tuesday: My Favorite School Books

This meme is hosted by Broke and the Bookish. Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme where you choose your top ten picks based on a topic.

This week’s topic: my favorite school books

This week’s topic was a school-related freebie. I decided to compile my favorite books that have something to do with school. This could consist of books that I’ve read for school or books that have awesome schools in them.

image

Ender’s Game (The Ender Quintet, #1) by Orson Scott Card

I had to read this in one of my English classes in middle school and fell in love. This is one of the few books that I was required to read and enjoyed. If you like middle-grade sci-fi books, then you’ll enjoy this one.

The Unwanteds (Unwanteds, #1) by Lisa McMann

This one is also a middle-grade series. I’ve only read the first book, but I want to eventually read the rest of the series if I ever have time. It’s set in the future, where artistic/creative kids are forbidden. The ones that are found out are sent to a place to be executed, but there’s a secret school that tries and save the kids and train them to fight back. (I’m not explaining it that well, but if you want to check it out, click here to go to its Goodreads page.)

Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell

This is a coming-to-age story about a fangirl named Cath who has to go to college. There, she learns lessons of friendship, family, and love. It’s such a cute story and it makes me want to squeal everytime I think about it.

I love Cath and Levi so much. They are one of my OTPs.

Eleanor and Park by Rainbow Rowell

The school part in this story isn’t all that significant other than the fact that the two main characters meet each other because of school.

Carry On by Rainbow Rowell

The school in this story reminds me of Hogwarts from Harry Potter. If you’re looking for a book that reminds you of Harry Potter, this is the one to read.

Me and Earl and the Dying Girl by Jesse Andrews

Like Eleanor and Park by Rainbow Rowell, the only significance of the school in this story is that the main characters meet because of it.

This story, for once, isn’t a love story between the main protagonists. It seemed more realistic than other YA contemporary novels that I’ve read.

I’ll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson

This story’s smaller problem revolves around art school. Noah wanted to get in but didn’t and Jude got in the art school even though she didn’t want to be there.

Furiously Happy: A Funny Book About Horrible Things by Jenny Lawson

I read this for school because I was assigned to read an biography. I thought, if I have to read a biography, why not read the weirdest one I could find?

Even my teacher did a double take when she was checking out what we chose for our biographies. Even the cover of this book screams weird.

To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee

This was one of my required summer reading books this year, and I surprisingly loved it. I don’t have many good experiences with classics, but this one is now one of my all-time favorites.

There’s something about this book that struck me funny. Maybe it was the themes. Maybe it was the whole situation that the characters were in. Whatever it was, I haven’t stopped thinking about the book ever since I finished it.

Harry Potter series by J.K. Rowling

harry-potter-montage

Hogwarts. Obviously.

image

Until next time….

image

16 thoughts on “Top 10 Tuesday: My Favorite School Books

  1. Donna 08/30/2016 / 9:54 am

    Furiously Happy is one of my favorite books and my favorite non-fiction. I keep this book close to me 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jessica 08/30/2016 / 3:49 pm

      Me too! I had a personal connection with some of the things the author is going through and it means so much to me for someone to write a book about it and be the voice for us.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Donna 08/31/2016 / 11:50 am

        Same for me, I recognized so many things in my own life that it was a bit scary but also a big relief.

        Liked by 1 person

    • Jessica 08/30/2016 / 3:49 pm

      Yes! It’s such an amazing book 🙂

      Like

  2. @lynnsbooks 08/30/2016 / 1:43 pm

    Furiously Happy has such a great cover – it just makes me want to burst into mad giggles.
    Lynn 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jessica 08/30/2016 / 3:51 pm

      You should read it! The book is even more hilarious than the cover.

      Like

  3. notsomoderngirl 08/30/2016 / 2:02 pm

    I love Carry On as well! Tbh, I like most of Rainbow Rowell’s books! It is very similar to Harry Potter but I think the romance in it is just so adorable 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jessica 08/30/2016 / 3:53 pm

      I totally agree! All of Rainbow Rowell’s books are amazing. Plus, the romance in Carry On makes me want to fangirl every time I think about it.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. bookreviews5blog 08/31/2016 / 3:32 pm

    I love all the books on this list. Especially Rainbow Rowell and Jandy Nelson!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

