October’s Most Anticipated Releases!

October is finally here and you know what that means! HALLOWEEN AND COLD WEATHER! I’m so happy that the weather is finally cooling down where I live. It sucks to walk home in 100 degree weather.

A new month also means new books! Of course, I’m probably not going to buy all of these new releases because my  wallet would feel considerably lighter if I did. Plus, I still have a lot of books on my TBR, and I need to read those before I get more.

image

The Hammer of Thor (Magnus Chase and the Gods of Asgard, #2) by Rick Riordan

Published: October 4

I didn’t enjoy The Sword of Summer as much as I thought I would, but I’m willing to give this series another chance because I love Rick Riordan’s writing. It’s not like I hated the first book, but it felt like Rick Riordan was almost making fun of the mythology rather than telling a story.

The Lovely Reckless by Kami Garcia

Published: October 4

I was sent an ARC last month and enjoyed it. It’s your typical good girl meets bad boy story but with a slight twist.

Gemina (The Illuminae Files, #2) by Amie Kaufman & Jay Kristoff, illustrated by Marie Lu

Published: October 18

I. NEED. THIS. BOOK. RIGHT. NOW! I loved the first book, Illuminae, and I need more. I love the characters. I love the story. I love the world. And to top it all off, Marie Lu (who’s artwork is freaking amazing) is illustrating parts of the story. If Gemina is anything like the first book, I know I’m going to love it.

image

What are some of your anticipated releases of October?

If you could have one book that hasn’t been released yet, what would it be and why?

(If your celebrate Halloween) What are you going to be for Halloween?

(For those who think they’re too old for trick-or-treating, you’re never to old to eat candy.)

image

Until next time….

image

6 thoughts on “October’s Most Anticipated Releases!

  1. wonderfilledreads 10/02/2016 / 2:10 pm

    I think I’m most excited about The Midnight Star by Marie Lu. I’m dying to see how The Young Elites trilogy ends!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jessica 10/02/2016 / 7:03 pm

      I’ve only read the first book and haven’t gotten time to read the second. I didn’t realize that the third book was coming out this month! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Scott J. Clemons 10/11/2016 / 12:58 am

    I’m totes with you on the Sword of Summer. I remember seeing it and thinking, “Norse gods and sword fighting? Where do I sign up?” But there was something about Magnus Chase’s humor that felt less like teenage snarky sarcasm and more like eye-rolling dad jokes. I might pick up the next book on audio just for something to listen to during my knitting though. I’m a give-the-next-book-a-chance kinda guy.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jessica 10/11/2016 / 4:03 pm

      I have to agree about the dad jokes. Some of them were pretty cringe-worthy. Hopefully the next book is better! 😊

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

