Six Different Types of YA Romances

In many YA novels, I’ve noticed that there is some sort of element of romance. Although sometimes I get exasperated with all the love in the air, whenever I read a book without romance in it, I find myself wanting it.

The majority of YA books that I read have romance in it, and I’ve found several different types of falling-in-love situations.

image

Love at First Sight

I think it’s cute when two people are “meant to be”, but only in books. If it was anywhere outside of a story, I would be very concerned on how fast the two fall in love with each other.

Call me a romantic, but I believe love at first sight does exist. I just don’t think it happens often, and for good reason.

img_6054Hatred to Love

I wouldn’t say that the two characters completely hated each other, but they acted like they did. It’s like they’re trying too hard not to show their feelings to each other.

It’s okay, guys. We know you love each other. No need to hide something that everyone can see.

Love Confusion

Ah, love triangles. The one thing in YA literature I just don’t understand. Don’t you think if you’re in love with someone but also have feelings for another, you don’t truly like the person you’re with? Honestly, it’s not realistic, but heck, I still love reading about it if it’s done right.

Bad Boy Meets Good Girl

I think this situation is so cute. The bad boy falls for one girl that makes him all cuddly and nice, but only to her. Don’t tell me that isn’t cute. It’s cute.

Most of the time, the bad boy is from a lower class than the good girl. Which brings me to my next type of romance…

Different Class Romance

This is when two people from two drastically different social classes (a.k.a. one is an elite and the other is a common person). They look past their social differences and fall in love.

They’re both at first skeptical of each other, letting stereotypes cloud their judgement, but in the end they look past their social standing.

Friend-zone Survivor

These are the only people I know that have successfully gotten out of the friend-zone. Props to them, because it’s a tough place to get out of. Not many people succeed, but somehow they did.

image

Until next time….

image

5 thoughts on “Six Different Types of YA Romances

  1. avathenerd 11/08/2016 / 8:05 am

    A very accurate list! Thanks for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. TeacherofYA 11/19/2016 / 5:55 am

    Love this breakdown! If you read a Stealing Snow, there’s also A LOVE SQUARE! I don’t think someone call love more than one person at a time: if they think they do, then they don’t love either.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jessica 11/19/2016 / 10:14 am

      A love square??? Never heard of a book with a love square. I agree, though. Loving more than one person in that way at a time might signal that they don’t love either at all.

      Like

Leave a Reply

