Day 451- Leaving Twitter

I know I’m posting this super late compared to my normal posting schedule, but I just wanted to say that I’m leaving Twitter.

I have a couple reasons:

1. I don’t use Twitter

I don’t see a point of keeping something I don’t use. I’ve been pretty inactive on social media, and I don’t plan to start being active any time soon.

2. I don’t have time

Once again, I don’t use social media often. I don’t want to dedicate time to keep up with it when I could be using that time to read and blog.

3. Negativity

There has been so much negativity on Twitter with the recent events to the point I broke down crying today from all the hate. Now, all this hate isn’t directly pointed at me, but it does include me in it. Considering my reaction today, I don’t think being on Twitter would be healthy for me.

image

Now, this doesn’t mean I won’t reconsider getting a Twitter later in the future. For right now, I want to delete my account. I’ve been thinking about doing it for awhile, and my reaction today just gave me a decisive reason why I should.

This doesn’t mean I’m going to stop blogging. I’m not going to stop blogging unless something drastic happens in my life that forces me to quit.

image

Stay positive! Until next time….

image

4 thoughts on “Day 451- Leaving Twitter

  1. TeacherofYA 11/19/2016 / 10:14 am

    I’m sorry to sound ignorant, but what happened? I only use Twitter to promote my blog and make sure ppl can contact me…
    Was it about the election? Was it bc you were a Trump supporter? Bc I think hate toward ppl for their political opinion is WRONG.
    If you don’t feel comfortable telling me, I understand. Just can’t believe ppl would hate on anyone! The author of The Continent got death threats on Twitter…it’s appalling!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jessica 11/19/2016 / 12:44 pm

      It is because of the election. There has been some hateful things said about my race (I am considered a minority in America) and gender. I just found it wrong to be so hateful of others just because they voted for a certain candidate or because of their appearance. I personally don’t want to be on Twitter at the moment because of all the pain and fear the negativity has caused. America is very divided at the moment, and Twitter just amplifies that. I might go back on later when everything calms down, but I needed to take a break.

      Like

Leave a Reply

