Day 465- Ten Unusual Things I’m Thankful For

Everyone talks about the basic things they’re thankful for around Thanksgiving time. Family, friends, food, privileges, etc. I wanted to talk about ten things that I don’t realize I take for granted until I think about it. These are the things that aren’t the first items I think of when someone asks me what I’m thankful for.

1. Music

Music is a big part of my life. I’ve played several instruments in my childhood, and it’s also what got me through some tough times.

2. Medical Care

As a kid, I was always sick. I’m not sure I would be alive if I didn’t have the easy access to medical care I had.

3. My failures

I learned from my failures, and came out stronger. I’m thankful for my successes, but I wouldn’t be where I am today without my failures either.

4. Paper

Without paper, I wouldn’t be able to write. Without paper, I wouldn’t be able to draw. Without paper, I wouldn’t be able to read as a kid.

5. Holidays

I don’t get to see my relatives and my whole immediate family together often, but the holidays always brings us together.

6. My glasses

I can’t see that far without my glasses. Without them, I probably would struggle in my classes.

7. Chapstick

My lips get chapped all the time.

8. Beds

I love sleeping. I love my bed. I take my bed for granted all the time, but I shouldn’t.

9. Freedom of creativity

This kind of ties in with #10, but I get the freedom of creativity thanks to the internet and thanks to art. My childhood mind can thrive.

10. My blog and the people I’ve met because of it

I don’t know where I would be without this blog. I lived in a world where no one was as passionate about reading and books as I was until I created this blog. It opened up a whole different world, and now I can fangirl about books with others without being judged.

The people I’ve met because of this blog have been nothing but supportive and so freaking nice. I still can’t wrap my head around the sheer size of this book community and all the love and care everyone feels for each other.

image

Happy Thanksgiving to those who celebrate it! Until next time….

end

5 thoughts on “Day 465- Ten Unusual Things I’m Thankful For

  1. TheReadingCorner346 11/24/2016 / 4:34 pm

    I love chapstick too! But I have found that lip gloss is a more sophisticated alternitive that still works the same! (Yes, I know I didn’t spell that right. But as you said for learning from mistakes, now I have to learn how to spell that!)

    Liked by 2 people

    • Jessica 11/24/2016 / 4:45 pm

      I personally don’t use lip gloss because I find that I always somehow get it everywhere.
      Learning from your mistakes is always a good thing to do! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  2. TeacherofYA 12/07/2016 / 3:17 am

    I love how you are thankful for the little things, like your glasses and chapstick and paper! Makes me reassess! 🤔

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

