The Candy Book Tag

image

I was tagged by the lovely Ava over at Reads, Rhythms, and Ruminations. Thanks so much for tagging me! I always crave something sweet, and this is just making me hungrier than I need to be.

image

Apple | Ah. Healthy food. It is deep, meaningful, and probably won a lot of awards but, um, it really isn’t your thing.

The Raven Cycle by Maggie Stiefvater

Everyone and their mother was raving about this series last year so I decided to give it a try. I read the first book, and thought that it was okay. I didn’t see the amazingness that everyone else has been seeing in this series. I guess the story isn’t really up my alley.

Milk Chocolate | This is a book you’d recommend to absolutely everyone.

To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee

I don’t like classics. Every time I’ve been forced to read a classic I didn’t enjoy the story. I guess what took away from the fun of reading them were the endless assignments and essays I had to write over the books. However, when I read To Kill a Mockingbird, I didn’t experience the same dread and annoyance as I expected to. I don’t normally read contemporary novels, but I really loved this one. There’s just something about it that makes it so good.

Black Jellybeans | Why do these exist?

I really despise movie posters on book covers because 99% of the time, the movie poster is worse than the original cover. If it ain’t broke, don’t fix it. That’s all I have to say about that.

Chocolate Kisses | Aww this novel had the best romance.

A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas

I’m not going to spoil anything about this series. I promise. I’m just going to say that Sarah J. Maas knows how to play with her readers’ hearts. I never thought I would become a hardcore fangirl until I came across this series. Out of the two books that are out right now, the romance in the second book, ACOMAF, is my favorite. Feyre’s relationship with a certain someone makes me want to squeal and jump around because it makes me so happy.

Gummy Spiders| Eek! You made sure to check under your bed every night for a week after reading this scary one.

I don’t ever read scary books. I value my sleep too much to give it up by reading something that’ll keep me up all night.

Jumbo Lollipop | This took your forever to get through, but hey! You did it!

The Well of Ascension by Brandon Sanderson

It’s not that I hated this book. It’s actually really good. However, I started reading this during a reading slump and it was finals time. Plus, The Well of Ascension is a pretty lengthy book. It’s 600+ pages long.  I (normally) spend one month max on a book. This one took me over six months to read.

Yikes. I know. It’s still a really good book, though.

Cotton Candy | Admit it, you loved this when you were younger (you probably still do).

Tuesdays at the Castle by Jessica Day George

I got this book for free a long time ago by entering in this summer reading program at my local Barnes and Noble. I just got it without knowing much about the plot.

And boy, do I not regretting picking this book. It was just so CUTE. And after reading a lot of intense fantasy reading, it was nice to read something light and magical. I still skim through it every once in a while.

image

I tag…

everyone with a sweet tooth! If you want to do this tag, consider yourself tagged by me!

image

Clean Template (for your copying + pasting convenience)

Apple | Ah. Healthy food. It is deep, meaningful, and probably won a lot of awards but, um, it really isn’t your thing.

Milk Chocolate | This is a book you’d recommend to absolutely everyone.

Black Jellybeans | Why do these exist?

Chocolate Kisses | Aww this novel had the best romance.

Gummy Spiders| Eek! You made sure to check under your bed every night for a week after reading this scary one.

Jumbo Lollipop | This took your forever to get through, but hey! You did it!

Cotton Candy | Admit it, you loved this when you were younger (you probably still do).

image

Until next time….

end

9 thoughts on “The Candy Book Tag

  1. avathenerd 12/11/2016 / 9:18 am

    Thanks for the mention! This tag certainly makes one crave candies.
    To Kill A Mockingbird is a great read. And I can totally relate to and loved your answer to the gummy spider question (sleep is so important).
    Nice post!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jessica 12/11/2016 / 10:14 am

      Thanks! This tag has certainly got me wanting something sweet.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: The Candy Book Tag
  3. Payton's Book Thoughts 12/11/2016 / 10:22 am

    Love love love you’re answer to black jelly beans! I hate when they put movie posters on the books!! Ugh. And I thought I was the only one.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. littlebookynook 12/11/2016 / 5:01 pm

    Ahh this is an awesome post, I’m gunna do it 🙂 I hate when they put movie posters on covers too…it makes it look like you just went out to buy the book because it was being made into a movie…boo 😦

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

