Burn, Rewrite, Reread Book Tag: Read 2016 Edition

image

I was tagged by Heather over at The Sassy Book Geek. Thanks so much! Make sure you check out her blog. She has bookish discussions and honest reviews.

Rules:

  • Randomly choose 3 books (Tip: Use the “Sort > Random” option on your Goodreads’ Read shelf.).
  • For each group, decide which book to burn, which one to rewrite, and which to reread (a lot like Kiss, Marry, Kill).
  • Repeat until you completed three rounds (or six).

I wrote down random titles of books I read this year onto slips of papers and put them all in a little pail. Without looking, I chose six groups of three (18 total) to do six rounds of this game.

image

Round 1: Cruel Beauty | Under the Never Sky | Graceling

Burn: Cruel Beauty by Rosamund Hodge

Image result for cruel beautyWhen I saw that this was a retelling of Beauty and the Beast, I was super excited. I love fairy tale retellings, especially of Beauty and the Beast. I love it when an author takes a classic story and turns it into something new. However, I didn’t enjoy Cruel Beauty because it was just a retelling the story with different characters and setting. There wasn’t much character development, and the overall story was pretty bland. I’m not really into book burning, but I wouldn’t feel bad seeing this book burn.

Rewrite: Under the Never Sky by Veronica Rossi

The book was okay, but I did have some problems with it. In my opinion, the story and characters were very generic. It’s your typical dystopian setting with a girl from a sheltered society leaving to find a boy from the “outside” world who is considered “barbaric”. I think this book has the potential to be a lot better if it was rewritten. If the story had more “umph” to it, I think it would be fun to read.The idea is great, but I didn’t like the way it was written.

Reread: Graceling by Kristin Cashore

I loved Graceling. I read it at a time when I consumed a lot of intense fantasy novels, so stepping down and reading something lighter was a nice change. Once I started reading it, it made me realize how much I missed middle grade books. Ever since I’ve gotten into young adult and new adult books, that was all I was reading. I haven’t read the rest of the trilogy yet, but when I do, I might reread the first book to refresh my memory.

image

Round 2: Between Shades of Gray | Oblivion | Dreams of Gods & Monsters

Burn: Dreams of Gods & Monsters by Laini Taylor

I didn’t really enjoy this book. I guess it’s because I lost interest even before I started it. I loved Daughter of Smoke & Bone, but the second book bored me to death. I only read the last book because of the hope that it was better than the second one, but I guess I was wrong. It’s probably not fair to judge a book based on the previous ones in the series, but because I lost interest in the second book, I lost interest in this book as well. Plus, I didn’t really like how it ended.

Rewrite: Between Shades of Gray  by Ruta Sepetys

One of my favorite genres to read about is war. Yes, it’s depressing and draws out a feeling of hopelessness out of me, but it’s all so fascinating. Call me a history nerd, if you want. One of the wars I love to read about is WWII. There is so much controversy about it and it’s interesting to see different sides of the argument of whether the benefits of the outcome outweighs the amount of people that were killed during the war.

Reread: Oblivion by Jennifer L. Armentrout

I wouldn’t change this for the world. Whenever I read romance novels, I always want to know both sides of the relationships. Most of the time, we only get one character’s thoughts if the story is written in first person. That was the case in the beginning of the Lux series. However, Jennifer L. Armentrout decided to make a full book dedicated to Daemon’s thoughts and feelings over the first three books in the series. That is 1,005 pages of pure Daemon. Who wouldn’t want that?

image

Round 3: Carry On | Six of Crows | To Kill a Mockingbird

Burn: Carry On by Rainbow Rowell

28040-1429820340604

I feel bad burning this book. It’s not like I didn’t enjoy it or anything. On the contrary, it happens to be one of my favorite books of this year. It reminded me a lot of Harry Potter. There were a lot of parallels, but I wouldn’t say that this was copying the series. Sure some of the characters and the magical school seemed a lot like the Harry Potter series, but everything else is different. However, no matter how much I love this book, it dulls in comparison to Six of Crows and To Kill a Mockingbird. Sorry Simon + Baz… Maybe next time.

Reread: Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo

IMG_4551

Did I ever tell you how much I love crazy geniuses? I guess that’s why I like Sherlock so much. He’s crazy, but he’s also a genius. Same with Moriarty. He’s my favorite villain in that show.

Anyway, Kaz in Six of Crows reminds me of a mixture between Sherlock and Moriarty. He’s a genius with a smidgen of evil inside of him. Seeing his plan slowly unfold is an amazing experience and if you haven’t read this book, you need to right this instance.

Reread (also): To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee

I couldn’t bring myself to rewrite Six of Crows or this book because I loved them both too much. Plus, I think I would get a lot of hate if I said either of them should be rewritten. To Kill a Mockingbird is a classic, and I don’t want to change anything in the story because of that. I think that the good and bad things is what makes this story so great.

image

Round 4: Heart of Betrayal | The Sword of Summer | All the Light We Cannot See

Burn: Heart of Betrayal by Mary E. Pearson

It was okay. Just like Dreams of Gods & Monsters, I didn’t like it as much as I could have because I lost interest in the story. There was a big time gap between when I read the first book and when I read Heart of Betrayal, and in that time the series has lost some hype in my mind. It’s not a bad book. I just didn’t enjoy it as much as the other books in this round. It would’ve helped if I remember what went on in the first book and who the characters were because play catch-up was painful.

Rewrite: The Sword of Summer by Rick Riordan

I like Rick Riordan. The way he blends in mythology into his stories is always entertaining. The Percy Jackson and the Olympians series happens to be one of my all-time favorite series, so when I saw that Rick Riordan was coming out with another series, I had high expectations. The book was good, but it wasn’t as good as the Percy Jackson series. As I was reading it, I had this feeling that Riordan was almost making of the mythology rather than telling a story.  I’m sure that’s not the case, but that’s what it felt like. If it were rewritten so that Riordan wasn’t so focused on the humor aspect and more focused on the story aspect, I think it wouldn’t come off as a joke.

Reread: All the Light We Cannot See by Anthony Doerr

In the few times I’m not reading fantasy books, I’m reading WWII books. Most of the time, I read about the concentration camp side of the story. I’ve never read a book about the other civilians and the German side of the story. It kind of forces you to realize that’s there are more sides of the story than you think. All the Light We Cannot See is a sad tale, but I wouldn’t mind rereading it when the time is right.

image

Round 5: Empire of Storms | Illuminae | Beastly Bones

Burn: Beastly Bones by William Ritter

Image result for beastly bones

Jackaby is a fun series to read. It’s short and quick. I love the series because it reminds me so much of Sherlock, and I will love anything that reminds me of Sherlock. Unfortunately, this book is going against two of my favorite books that I read this year, so it has to go. Sorry, Beastly Bones. Hate to break it to you, but out of the three, you weren’t my favorite. Still, if you like Sherlock, I would give this series a go.

Rewrite: Empire of Storms by Sarah J. Maas

image

Yup. You’re seeing this right in front of your eyes. I’m saying that I don’t think that all the Throne of Glass books are perfect. *le gasp* I know. Shocking. The one thing I want rewritten is the ending. I just wish the book hadn’t ended the way it had. I hate cliffhangers, and that is the biggest cliffhanger of the year. Curse you Sarah J. Maas! Why do you got to do that and hurt my heart? There’s only one more book, and I have to wait another year before it comes out. AND YOU LEFT ME WITH A CLIFFHANGER!

Reread: Illuminae by Amie Kaufman & Jay Kristoff

Illuminae Ray V6FrontOnlyA2A_V3.indd

I love Illuminae for a couple reasons. One, it’s a really good story. I love the characters, the world, and the plot. Two, I love to format that it was written in. It was like I was inside the world itself and watching the story slowly play out in front of my eyes. The way the story was written kept me interested. I would’ve still loved the book if it was written normally. That’s how good it is.

image

Round 6: A Court of Mist and Fury | Lady Midnight | The Winner’s Crime

Burn: The Winner’s Crime by Marie Rutkoski

I didn’t like the characters in this story. They were annoying, in my opinion. Kestrel was hopelessly in love with a boy that only thinks the worst in her. Arin is super pessimistic and cynical, and was too blinded by his own hatred for elite people that he couldn’t see all the things Kestrel was sacrificing to help him.

 

Rewrite: Lady Midnight by Cassandra Clare

13541054

Like Empire of Storms, the only thing I would like rewritten is the cliffhanger ending. I don’t think I can handle them anymore. I used to be okay with them because normally the next book was already out, but now that I have to wait, it’s painful. Plus, something needs to be done about Julian and Emma. They need to talk about their relationship stat because if they don’t, things could go downhill really quickly. I feel like communication can really solve a lot of problems in YA literature.

Reread: A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas

Here goes Sarah J. Maas again, playing with my heart strings. I’m not normally the type of person who changes ships in the middle of a series, but hot dang, once Tamlin became a really big… um… [insert choice of word here], I changed my ship faster than a blink of an eye. Tamlin was okay in A Court of Thorns and Roses, but he becomes overprotective and overbearing (and not in a cute way).
image

I tag…

Anna @ My Bookish Dream

Niraja @ Fantastic Books and Where to Find Them

E.K.M.’s Art and Writing

Teacher of YA

and you! If you want to give this a try, consider yourself tagged!

(If you have already done this tag or don’t want to do it, feel free to ignore this.)

image

Until next time….

end

10 thoughts on “Burn, Rewrite, Reread Book Tag: Read 2016 Edition

  1. Anna @MyBookishDream 12/19/2016 / 6:42 pm

    Thank you for tagging me! I’m really looking forward to doing this tag and I plan on picking only my favourite books. For some weird reason I’m really exited to do it! XD

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thanks so much for the tag, and I agree – both Six of Crows and To Kill a Mockingbird are too good to rewrite, and I would never, ever consider getting rid of them! Even in ACOTAR, I had a hunch that Rhysand and Feyre would work out better than Tamlin and Feyre, and that hunch only came true in ACOMAF. Can’t wait for ACOWAR! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jessica 12/22/2016 / 8:22 am

      You’re welcome! There are too many days until ACOWAR. I need the book now!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. TeacherofYA 12/28/2016 / 12:45 pm

    I’m glad you tagged me bc you burned all my babies!! 🙀😭
    This’ll be fun!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jessica 12/28/2016 / 2:18 pm

      Whoops! 😬😂 I don’t condone book burning, so the choice was difficult. Most of the books I burned were ones that I enjoyed, just not as much as the others.

      Like

Leave a Reply

