2016 Book Bucket List: How did I do?

image

Towards the beginning of this year, I made a list of books that I wanted to get to this year (check out that post here). Half-way through the year in June I was looking back at my old posts to try and get some inspiration on what to write next. I made an update on how I was doing on my book bucket list and changed out a couple books because my interests had changed (check out that post here). Now, this is a post about how I actually did. Did I read a lot of books this year? Compared to last year, no. However, I had less time to read this year than I had last year. Instead of reading books I set myself to read, I just read books I felt like reading. I think that’s how I avoided a lot of reading slumps this year.

TL;DR – I didn’t do so great. Out of the thirteen books on the list, I only read eight.

image

Updated Book Bucket List:

A Court of Thorns and Roses (A Court of Thorns and Roses, #1) by Sarah J. Maas

I had to reread this in order to read the next book, A Court of Mist and Fury. I read it once before, but I didn’t remember a lot of what happened. (review)

Crown of Midnight (Throne of Glass, #2) by Sarah J. Maas

Because I haven’t had a lot of free time this year, I didn’t see the point of rereading something that wasn’t urgent when I had so many other books that I haven’t read. I’ll get to it sometime. When that will be, I have no idea. It could be years from now. We will never know.

The Sword of Summer (Magnus Chase and the Gods of Asgard, #1) by Rick Riordan

I love Rick Riordan’s works. However, I was disappointed with this one. More about my thoughts here.

Golden Son (Red Rising, #1) by Pierce Brown

I don’t have much to say about this one other than the fact that yeah… I read it. (review)

The Hero of Ages (Mistborn, #3) by Brandon Sanderson

I still haven’t found the opportune time to read this. I took several months on the previous books and don’t want to make the same mistake again with this book. I’m still waiting for a good opportunity to start this.

All the Light We Cannot See by Anthony Doerr

I will read almost anything about WWII. This one was especially interesting because the author talked about the war through a French civilian’s perspective and a young German orphan’s perspective. (review)

Opal (Lux, #3) by Jennifer L. Armentrout

I actually read this during 2015 right after I created the book bucket list post. (review)

Illuminae (The Illuminae Files, #1) by Amie Kaufman & Jay Kristoff

I loved this book and need to read the second one ASAP. (review)

Me Before You (Me Before You, #1) by Jojo Moyes

I didn’t read this book because I wasn’t ready to cry.

1984 by George Orwell

I started this a couple months ago, but for some reason I stopped. I don’t remember the reason why. It’s still sitting on my shelf, ready to be finished.

To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee

Whenever I told someone I didn’t like classics, they told me I just haven’t found the right book. Well guess what guys. I found it. To Kill a Mockingbird is an amazing book and everyone should read it. (review)

Six of Crows (Six of Crows, #1) by Leigh Bardugo

I love this new series that Leigh Bardugo wrote. I’m sad that it’s only a duology though. (review)

A Gathering of Shadows (Shades of Magic, #2) by V.E. Schwab

It feels like years since I got the book. I still haven’t read it. I have no excuse. I just haven’t read it.

image

Until next time….

end

2 thoughts on “2016 Book Bucket List: How did I do?

  1. Richard 12/29/2016 / 1:57 pm

    I read 1984 for the first time this year. It’s a good book, but I preferred seeing it being performed at the theatre.
    I’m going to make a list of books I will try to read by the end of 2017, quite a few classics are on the list!
    Happy New Year! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jessica 12/29/2016 / 2:18 pm

      I still need to finish 1984 😬 I’m hoping to read more classics in 2017.
      Happy New Year to you too!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

