Harry Potter Book Tag

image

I was tagged by Ava over at Reads, Rhythms, & Ruminations. Thanks so much for tagging me! I think doing something Harry Potter related is a good way to start off the new year.

I’ve already done this tag once before, and if you want to see my previous answers, click here. I’m going to try and not give the same answers that I did in my previous post by mainly using the books I read in 2016.

image

A book where you found the theme interesting, but you’d like to rewrite it.

Harry Potter and the Cursed Child by John Tiffany, Jack Thorne, J.K. Rowling

I liked the concept of the story, but I wish it wasn’t written in play format. I also wish that J.K. Rowling was the only one to write it. Basically, I wished what every Harry Potter fan wished: another Harry Potter book. Not a Harry Potter play script. (review)


The first book in a series that got you hooked.

Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo

IMG_4551

I love this book so much. Some might say I love this book a little too much. I wish this series was more than a duology. (review)


A book you wish you could have right now.

Lord of Shadows by Cassandra Clare

Image result for lord of shadows

I was going to say I wished I had one of Sarah J. Maas’s books that going to come out in 2017 (A Court of Wings and Ruin / Throne of Glass #6), but then I realized how obvious that is. There are other great books out there that I wish I had now, including Cassandra Clare’s new book, Lord of Shadows. I need it after that ending in Lady Midnight. May 2017 is too far away.


A killer book. Both senses. Take it as you like.

 A killer book (in a good sense):

To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee

715vlp6m-ol

To Kill a Mockingbird is a killer book for a couple of reasons. One, it has the word”kill” in its title. Two, it killed my impression that all classics are bad/killer writing. Three, it’s just a great book. (review)

A killer book (in a bad sense):

A History of the World in 6 Glasses by Tom Standage

Image result for a history of the world in 6 glasses

I love learning about history. There’s something so fascinating about knowing how we got to be where we are today. That’s why I was super excited to read this book for one of my classes. It’s about world history in relation to six different beverages. However, this book bored me to tears. I guess my high expectations made the book seem worse than it probably is. Still, I did not like this book at all.


A book that you found really confusing.

Empire of Storms by Sarah J. Maas

image

There were a lot of plot twists in this book that my head was spinning by the time I was finished. Everything that happened was really intense. It was one big plot twist after another. There were a couple things that I questioned whether or not a 19 year-old was capable of doing, but then again, the genre is fantasy. The impossible is supposed to happen. (review)


Your spirit animal book.

Lumberjanes series by Noelle Stevenson

Image result for lumberjanes seriesImage result for lumberjanes seriesImage result for lumberjanes seriesImage result for lumberjanes vol 4Image result for lumberjanes vol 5

Ripley secretly represents my inner-child. If I enjoyed going outdoors, then I’d feel like I would spend a lot of time in the woods. I love adventure. However, I hate bugs and sweating. That’s why I experience my adventures through reading. The Lumberjanes would be a group I’d love to be a part of when I was a younger child.


A dark, twisted book.

Between Shades of Gray by Ruta Sepetys

between-shades-of-gray

It’s not the book itself that is dark and twisted. It’s the people. The things they made the main characters do… *shudder* (review)


A book that surprised you in a great way, reveals to be more than it is.

Lux series by Jennifer L. Armentrout

image

I’ve probably said this a million times before, but the Lux series is a lot more than the covers let on. Yes, the covers are a bit cheesy. Yes, the synopsis doesn’t help its cheesy image either. Yes, it actually is a bit cheesy. However, it is so much more. From the relationships to the fighting scenes, there is a lot in the Lux series. It’s like 50% fluffy romance and 50% bad ass alien warriors. It’s surprisingly a good mix.

(Obsidian review | Oblivion review | Onyx review | Opal review | Origin review | Opposition review)


I tag everyone who is a fan of Harry Potter!

image

Until next time….

end

4 thoughts on “Harry Potter Book Tag

  1. avathenerd 01/05/2017 / 12:29 am

    Great post! I totally forgot about Lord of Shadows. So many good sequels coming out in May 2017.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jessica 01/05/2017 / 12:39 am

      Thanks! I can’t wait for Lord of Shadows. It seems like every year May has a lot of good books coming out.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Anna @MyBookishDream 01/05/2017 / 12:27 pm

    I have to agree, every Harry Potter fan wanted another book and not a screen play. (I haven’t read it yet, but do plan on doing that soon.) Still, I’ll basically read anything Harry Potter related, so there’s that. Great post! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

