Rapid Fire Book Tag

image

I was tagged by the lovely Ava over at Reads, Rhythms, and Ruminations. Sorry it took so long. Make sure to check out her blog and her enthusiasm for anime!

image

I like quick tags so let’s just dive right in.

image

Ebooks or physical books?

Both. I get the physical copies of the books I love and the ebook version of all the others.

Paperback or hardback?

Depends on the time. If I’m desperate for a book and it’s just being released, I’ll be willing to splurge a bit more to get the hardcover. If I come across a book  and the paperback version is out, you bet your shiny dollar I’m going to get the paperback. It’s so much cheaper than the hardcover.

Online or in-store book shopping?

The nearest bookstore from where I live is about a 15-minute drive. Because it’s so close, I like in-store book shopping more. Also, it costs less when I have a coupon. Sure, it seems cheaper online, but the shipping + handling and the tax adds up quickly.

Trilogies or series?

I don’t care, as long as I don’t have to wait for the next book.

Heroes or villains?

Well… you can’t really have a hero without a villain and vise versa, so both.

A book you want everyone to read?

Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo. If you haven’t already read it, you need to RIGHT NOW.

Recommend an underrated book.

The Lumberjanes series! It’s a graphic novel series where a group of girls (kind of like Girl Scouts) go on adventures learning the meaning of friendship and defeating fantastical monsters. It’s quirky and super easy to read. The art is also awesome.

The last book you finished?

More Happy Than Not by Adam Silvera

Weirdest thing you used as a bookmark?

A banana.

Used books, yes or no?

Depends. If it’s for a class and I know I’m not going to care about it, then I’ll be okay with a used copy. Other than that, I prefer new copies but won’t be mad with a used one as long as it is still in good condition.

Top three favorite genres?

Fantasy, science-fiction, and historical fiction.

Borrow or buy?

I do a little bit of both. Actually, scratch that. I buy more than borrow, but when there’s a book that I’m unsure if I want to buy it, then I’ll try and find it at my local library before I make any decisions.

Characters or plot?

I really don’t care if the story is character or plot driven as long as it’s good and I enjoy it.

Long or short book?

I don’t care, as long as I enjoy it.

Long or short chapters?

Short chapters work better with me because I don’t have a long attention span. If it’s taking me a long time to finish a chapter, I’ll get distracted by something else.

Name the first three books you think of.

A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas

To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee

Harry Potter and the Order of Phoenix by J.K. Rowling

These all happen to be books I talked about today with a friend.

Books that make you laugh or cry?

Laughing feels a whole heck of a lot better than crying. Crying makes me feel icky inside. Plus, I ugly-cry. No one wants to see that.

Our world or fictional worlds?

Fictional, of course! I already live in this world, so if I could travel somewhere, I would travel to a place where I can’t possibly visit in real life except in the books.

Audiobooks, yes or no?

Yes! I love audiobooks. Whenever I’m too busy to sit down and read a book (which is too often nowadays), I like to listen to an audiobook while I’m working so I still get some “reading” done.

Do you ever judge a book by its cover?

All the time. Covers are like advertisements. If it looks interesting, I’ll consider buying the product (in this case, the book).

Book to movie or book to TV adaptation?

I haven’t come across a good YA book to TV adaptation (any suggestions?), so I’ll just say book to movie instead.

Series or standalone?

I’ve come to appreciate standalones more recently because the lack of commitment it takes to finish the story. Series take a long time to finish, especially if you have to wait for the next book to be released. Standalones are great because you get the whole story in one sitting.

image

I tag…

… everyone who wants to do this tag!

image

Clean Template (for your copying + pasting convenience) 

Ebooks or physical books?

Paperback or hardback?

Online or in-store book shopping?

Trilogies or series?

Heroes or villains?

A book you want everyone to read?

Recommend an underrated book.

The last book you finished?

Weirdest thing you used as a bookmark?

Used books, yes or no?

Top three favorite genres?

Borrow or buy?

Characters or plot?

Long or short book?

Long or short chapters?

Name the first three books you think of.

Books that make you laugh or cry?

Our world or fictional worlds?

Audiobooks, yes or no?

Do you ever judge a book by its cover?

Book to movie or book to TV adaptation?

Series or standalone?

image

Until next time….

end

10 thoughts on “Rapid Fire Book Tag

  1. TeacherofYA 03/27/2017 / 9:11 am

    Great tag! This is one of my faves as you learn so much about the person who does it!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Jasmine 03/27/2017 / 9:24 am

    Love your answers! I like your reasoning for in-store book buying. Yes, laughing is way better than crying for sure hehe.. Yes, standalones for me too, unless waiting for the whole series to come out, it’s definitely hard to read one book and then a year later read book 2 hehe.. A banana as a bookmark.. hahaha

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jessica 03/27/2017 / 5:00 pm

      Thanks! A banana was all I had with me at the moment so I just decided to use that because I didn’t want to dog ear the page.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Jasmine 03/27/2017 / 5:07 pm

        I don’t like to dog ear the page either 😊 whatever works right? Haha

        Liked by 1 person

  3. meltingpotsandothercalamities 03/27/2017 / 10:58 am

    I’ve had my eye on The Six of Crows for a long time now…I’m going to need to read it soon. And you’ve used a banana as a bookmark? How did that work?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jessica 03/27/2017 / 5:05 pm

      Yes! Six of Crows is amazing!
      I just had a banana on my desk (I think I was going to eat it but forgot) and needed to head somewhere real quick so I grabbed the nearest thing (the banana) and just put that in my book. I didn’t even realize I did that until I got back.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

