Wires and Nerve, Volume 1 by Marissa Meyer, illustrated by Douglas Holgate | Book Review

image

Image result for wires and nerve coverTitle: Wires and Nerve, Volume 1
Series: Wires and Nerve, #1
Author: Marissa Meyer
Illustrator: Douglas Holgate
Published: 01/31/17
Pages: 240
My Rating: 4.5 / 5
Goodreads page

This review is short and spoiler-free.

image

Synopsis

In her first graphic novel, #1 New York Times and USA Today bestseller Marissa Meyer follows Iko, the beloved android from the Lunar Chronicles, on a dangerous and romantic new adventure — with a little help from Cinder and the Lunar team.

In her first graphic novel, bestselling author Marissa Meyer extends the world of the Lunar Chronicles with a brand-new, action-packed story about Iko, the android with a heart of (mechanized) gold. When rogue packs of wolf-hybrid soldiers threaten the tenuous peace alliance between Earth and Luna, Iko takes it upon herself to hunt down the soldiers’ leader. She is soon working with a handsome royal guard who forces her to question everything she knows about love, loyalty, and her own humanity. With appearances by Cinder and the rest of the Rampion crew, this is a must-have for fans of the bestselling series.

(This synopsis is from Goodreads.)

image

Thoughts

I wasn’t 100% satisfied with the ending of the last book in The Lunar Chronicles, so I was super glad to hear that there was a spin-off-ish series that was going to follow Iko after the events of Winter. Even better, it was a graphic novel series. I don’t know about you, but I like pictures in books. It takes me back to my elementary school days.

Going back into the world felt like coming home to an old friend. My memory was a bit rusty on what happened in the end of the original series, but this book sucks you right in and explains what’s happening in the beginning. I wouldn’t read this unless you finished The Lunar Chronicles because much of the story is relied based on the assumption that the reader has already read the original series.

I feel that sometimes when transferring a story into pictures, some facts get lost because there’s only so much information you can put into a story made of pictures. Thankfully, that isn’t the case with the first volume. The characters didn’t act (for lack of a better phrase) out of character. I believe both Marissa Meyer and Douglas Holgate did a good job on starting off right where Winter left the readers and diving into (what I like to think as) the epilogue/sequel story.

image

Characters

Iko

She’s a classy, sassy lassie.

Cinder

Still her usual humble self.

Prince Kai

*swoons*

Cress & Captain Throne

I put them together because they make such a great team. And they’re adorable. I can’t help but fangirl when I think of them.

image

Conclusion

I give this book 4.5 / 5 BBC Sherlock heads. I love the artwork and it was great to revisit the world.

image

image

Until next time….

end

6 thoughts on “Wires and Nerve, Volume 1 by Marissa Meyer, illustrated by Douglas Holgate | Book Review

  1. TeacherofYA 04/03/2017 / 10:15 am

    I always love and look forward to your reviews. This is a book I’d love to own bc digitally I don’t feel like it would be the same. Great review!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jessica 04/03/2017 / 4:52 pm

      I agree! I’m so happy that they’re making a sequel to the original series.

      Liked by 1 person

    • Jessica 04/22/2017 / 8:56 pm

      It’s really good! Hope you enjoy it!

      Like

Leave a Reply

