April 2017 Wrap-up | I didn’t do anything

April was a low-key month for me reading-wise. I can’t say the same thing for my school life, however. My classes have all started dishing out their end-of-year projects and I still need to study for all my AP exams this year. Wish me luck because my first one is this Tuesday >.<

I also haven’t been posting as frequently as I want to. I aim to post once every two days, but now my schedule has turned into posting whenever I can. I must’ve done something bad in my previous life because karma wasn’t on my side this month. Not only did I have writer’s block, I also was in a artist’s block and reading slump.

Basically, I got nothing productive done.

What I did get done was read through several comics on Tapastic because that’s all my brain was happy to handle. (Which, btw, if you haven’t checked out my web comic you definitely should because you really want to support your fellow artist here, eh?)

image

Books Read This Month:

Image result for legend marie luTitle: Legend
Series: Legend, #1
Author: Marie Lu
Genre: young adult dystopia romance
Read: 04/02/17
Review: click here
Goodreads: link
Rating: 5 / 5

image

image

Currently Reading

Me Before You (Me Before You, #1) by Jojo Moyes

It’s taking me forever to get through this, I know. I’ve been reading it for forever now but I can’t bring myself to finish it because I have a feeling I know how it ends and I’m going to start bawling like a baby.

Gemina (The Illuminae Files, #2) by Amie Kaufman + Jay Kristoff

At first, I was a little bit angry that the second book in the Illuminae series didn’t follow the original characters, Katy and Ezra. Now, I’m not mad at all. The more I think about it, there was nowhere for Katy and Ezra’s story to go after Illuminae. I think I actually might like this book better than the first. I don’t know. We’ll see.

The Complete Sherlock Holmes by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle

I decided to splurge a little bit one day when I visited Barnes and Noble and bought a BEAUTIFUL edition of the complete collections of Sherlock Holmes. It was in plastic wrap (or is it called plastic shrink?) so I wasn’t able to see how small the font was until after I bought it. Yes, the font is super teeny tiny, but I still love the book. I felt like a sham when I kept on raving about the BBC TV show but not about the original story. So now I’m going to read it. Because this book is so long (over 1000 pages!), it’s something I’m going to pick up and read on a whim. I don’t think I’m going to be able to read the whole book in one sitting.

image

Reviews

Wires and Nerve, Volume 1 (Wires and Nerve, #1) by Marissa Meyer, illustrated by Douglas Holgate

Legend (Legend, #1) by Marie Lu

image

Bookish Posts

Dream Team Army

Throne of Glass #6 Title Reveal

ACOTAR series news update

image

Other

I started a web-comic!?!

Nine Things to do to Alleviate Stress

Day 615 – Fighting Social Anxiety

image

How was your April? 

Is there anything you’re looking forward to in May?

What are you currently reading?

image

Until next time….

end

4 thoughts on “April 2017 Wrap-up | I didn’t do anything

  1. Mahriya @ MyBookishLife 05/01/2017 / 11:27 am

    I’m sad that you didn’t have a productive month – my April was pretty decent even though I only read 5 books. I really want to read Legend and The Illuminae Files. I LOVE BBC SHERLOCK (and feel bad for not having read the books) I’m currently reading The Hobbit which is good so far! I’m looking forward to a hopefully wonderful May filled with books? Haha, I don’t know, May looks like a lot of work!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jessica 05/01/2017 / 5:07 pm

      YES ANOTHER SHERLOCK FAN HELLO!!!!
      I’m a bit disappointed in myself for not being productive in April, but hopefully May will be better.
      Wow! Five books is a lot to me! 😄

      Liked by 1 person

      • Mahriya @ MyBookishLife 05/03/2017 / 11:47 am

        HELLO, ALWAYS SHERLOCKED. GAHHHH
        Ahem
        5 books is quite a lot but I was hoping to read more??? Since I had a lot more time on my hands. Hope you have a wonderful May!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

