Gemina by Amie Kaufman & Jay Kristoff, illustrated by Marie Lu | Book Review

image

imageTitle: Gemina
Series: The Illuminae Files, #2
Author: Amie Kaufman, Jay Kristoff
Published: 10/18/16
Genre: sci-fi, romance, YA
Pages: 659
My Rating: 5 / 5
Goodreads page

This review is spoiler-free.

image

Synopsis

Moving to a space station at the edge of the galaxy was always going to be the death of Hanna’s social life. Nobody said it might actually get her killed.

The sci-fi saga that began with the breakout bestseller Illuminae continues on board the Jump Station Heimdall, where two new characters will confront the next wave of the BeiTech assault.

Hanna is the station captain’s pampered daughter; Nik the reluctant member of a notorious crime family. But while the pair are struggling with the realities of life aboard the galaxy’s most boring space station, little do they know that Kady Grant and the Hypatia are headed right toward Heimdall, carrying news of the Kerenza invasion.

When an elite BeiTech strike team invades the station, Hanna and Nik are thrown together to defend their home. But alien predators are picking off the station residents one by one, and a malfunction in the station’s wormhole means the space-time continuum might be ripped in two before dinner. Soon Hanna and Nik aren’t just fighting for their own survival; the fate of everyone on the Hypatia—and possibly the known universe—is in their hands.

But relax. They’ve totally got this. They hope.

(This synopsis is from Goodreads.)

image

Thoughts

I never thought this series would get better after the first book but HOT DANG this story was on FIYAAAAA.

When I first heard about this book, I thought it would be a continuation of Kady and Ezra’s story. However, the blurb told me otherwise. I was a bit upset at first, but the more I thought about it, the more I realized there wasn’t much more to say on Kady + Ezra’s side of the story.

You thought Illuminae was epic but a little far-fetched? Gemina is even more epic but also more far-fetched. Just keep in mind that this is a sci-fi book and it’s meant to be unrealistic.

One dominate thing I’ve noticed in this story: Hanna is very, VERY lucky. I don’t know a single character that has had that many brushes against death and survive. Maybe it’s her training. Maybe it’s her resourcefulness. I don’t know, but if I was ever in an apocalypse situation, I would stick by her side.

Even though this story follows a different set of characters, you have to read the first book to understand what’s happening in the second book. It’s kind of like the Lunar Chronicles. Each book follows different characters, but their story intertwines. That’s all I’m going to say about that or else I’m going to spoil something.

Even though this book is longer than most young adult novels, I flew through it because of they way it was written. All the chat rooms and reports really helped put myself into the story and I understand the characters more because of it. Also the crass language of most of the characters brought a new style that I’ve never seen in young adult books. Most of the books I’ve read are very lyrical and poetic, so the frankness of Hanna and Nik’s speech was refreshing.

Also, that ending was hella confusing.

image

Characters

Hanna Donnelly

Whether you believe in luck or not, this girl definitely has some divine power on her side because no one (and I really do mean no one) has that much luck.

Nik Malikov

Typical bad boy with a heart of gold? Yes please!

Ella Malikova

She’s an awesome ally. Let’s just hope you don’t ever get on her bad side.

Isaac Grant

He’s your typical dad, and I love him for that.

Travis “Cerberus” Falk

If Dolorous Umbridge had a brother, Cerberus would definitely be him.

Fleur “Kali” Russo

Bloodthirsty much?

image

Conclusion

I give this book a 5 / 5 BBC Sherlock heads. It’s pretty bomb, and I recommend that you give this series a shot. It won’t disappoint.

image

 

image

Until next time….

end

3 thoughts on “Gemina by Amie Kaufman & Jay Kristoff, illustrated by Marie Lu | Book Review

  1. Lindsey 06/06/2017 / 9:23 am

    I haven’t heard of this series before but it sounds really fun! Not to mention I love Jay Kristoff’s writing, so I doubt it will disappoint. Could be another for the tbr pile! Lovely review!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jessica 06/06/2017 / 11:27 am

      Yes this series is amazing! Can’t wait to see your reaction when you read it 😀

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

