Mid-Year Book Freak Out Tag

image

July has started, which means that we are in the second half of 2017. I totally forgot about this tag until I saw it pop up in several blogs. Since I had nothing better to do with my life at the moment, I decided to do it again this year. You can check out my take on this tag from 2016 here.

This tag was created by Read Like Wildfire and Elyjayne. Make sure to watch their videos and give them some love!

image

Best Book You’ve Read so far in 2017

Image result for crooked kingdom

Crooked Kingdom (Six of Crows, #2) by Leigh Bardugo

I loved this series. Am I happy with the ending of this series? Not really. I’m just super sad that this series was only two books long. However, the final book was explosive. There was plot twist after plot twist and it made my head spin. It hits you when you least expect it, and after reading a lot of cliche novels, it was refreshing to read a story where something unexpected happened.

Best Sequel You’ve Read so far in 2017

Image result for gemina

Gemina (The Illuminae Files, #2) by Amie Kaufman & Jay Kristoff

I didn’t want to use Crooked Kingdom more than once as an answer. That doesn’t mean that Gemina isn’t a great book. It is. In fact, I’m going to go as far as saying that it was better than the first book, and the first book was GOOD. Although there is a little set-back with learning all the new characters, it is well worth your time and effort.  Seriously, it was so good.

Most Anticipated Release for the Second Half of the Year

Image result for tower of dawn

Tower of Dawn (Throne of Glass, #6) by Sarah J. Maas

I haven’t been paying attention to releases coming out this year and this is the only one I can think of at the top of my head because… yeah. I love the Throne of Glass series a little too much.

88557-fangirl1

Actually, scratch that. I just checked Snapchat and John Green had a video on his story saying that he just announced at VidCon that he has a new book called Turtles All The Way Down. I’m super excited for this book as well.

Biggest Disappointment

I haven’t read a book that I was really disappointed in yet, which is good.

Biggest Surprise

Related image

Born a Crime by Trevor Noah

I’m not the biggest fan of biographies, especially autobiographies. There’s something about it that doesn’t settle with me. However, I think Trevor Noah did an awesome job of telling his life story so far while incorporating all the life lessons that he’s learned due to his hardships. It doesn’t hurt that he’s hilarious. I listened to the audiobook to get the full experience because Trevor Noah himself narrated it.

Favorite New Author

Image result for adam silvera

Adam Silvera

The reason I chose Adam Silvera as my new favorite author is because I finally read one of his books this year and actually had the amazing opportunity to meet him (even though it was for a very brief moment). From the minute or so that I got to meet him, I could tell that he was genuinely a nice person who’s slightly awkward. Or maybe that was me fangirling. Either way, I think he’s an awesome author and an awesome person in general. How many more vague adjectives can I put in this post? We’ll see!

Newest Fictional Crush

Image result for flame in the mist

Okami “the Wolf” from Flame in the Mist by Renee Ahdieh

Realistically, I wouldn’t date Okami just because he’s so dark and brooding and that’s my job. I don’t think two quiet and dark people would do well in a relationship. That doesn’t stop me from crushing on him a little bit. It’s one of those crushes where someone is super mysterious and you’re intrigued about who the person is. He/She is elusive, but that doesn’t stop you from crushing on him/her.

Newest Favorite Character

Image result for gemina

Nik Malikov from Gemina by Amie Kaufman & Jay Kristoff

Like Exra from the first book in the Illuminae Files, Nik likes to make light of the crappy situation he’s in. He’s tough as nails, but he also has a soft side for Hanna, the female protagonist. He would probably do anything for her. He can also crack a joke while getting shot although nothing beats when Hanna yells “JUPITER LOOPS”. I want to incorporate that phrase in my every day life but I’m having trouble finding times I need to use it because I’m not in a life-or-death situation against an evil incorporation in space who’s trying to kill me for seeing something I shouldn’t have witnessed.

Book that Made You Cry

I don’t cry. I’m an emotionless robot trying to brainwash everyone into thinking I’m a unicorn.

Just kidding. I cry all the dang time that I annoy myself more than I annoy others. The good news is that I haven’t cried because of a book. Yet.

Book that Made You Happy

Image result for legend marie lu

Legend (Legend, #1) by Marie Lu 

I decided to reread Legend and boy, am I glad that I did. It was nice to revisit a world that I haven’t thought about in years. It was like coming back to a childhood home that you haven’t seen in a while. It was also interesting to compare my view of the story and characters from when I read it the first time and now. My opinions toward the story are still positive, but I found it a bit weird that the characters are only in their mid-teens.

Favorite Book to Film Adaptation

Image result for wonder woman movie poster

Um. I have a confession to make: I haven’t watched a single book to film adaptation this year. In fact, I haven’t watched a single movie this year until very recently. Earlier this month, I finally went to go watch Wonder Woman, which isn’t really a book to movie adaptation unless you consider comics as a type of book. The movie was AMAZING on so many levels, and because of that I’m going to consider it my favorite book to film adaptation.

Related image

Favorite Post You’ve Done this Year

Ways to Alleviate Stress

I’m mostly proud of how I incorporated Sherlock .gifs throughout the whole post.

Most Beautiful Book You’ve Bought this Year

All of them! All books are beautiful.

image

New Release You haven’t Read yet but Want To

Image result for lord of shadows

Lord of Shadows (The Dark Artifices, #2) by Cassandra Clare

I totally forgot that this was released for some reason. I’ve been anticipating it for a while now but for some reason I missed when it was released. I still need to read it and I’m excited to throw myself back into the Shadowhunter world.

What Book do You NEED to Read by the End of the Year?

I don’t have a particular book that I need to read by the end of the year but I do want to reduce the amount of books that I own but haven’t read yet. Plus, entering this next year of school means that I’ll have even less time to read than I did last year.

image

Clean Template (for your copying + pasting convenience)

Best Book You’ve Read so far in 2017

Best Sequel You’ve Read so far in 2017

Most Anticipated Release for the Second Half of the Year

Biggest Disappointment

Biggest Surprise

Favorite New Author

Newest Fictional Crush

Newest Favorite Character

Book that Made You Cry

Book that Made You Happy

Favorite Book to Film Adaptation

Favorite Post You’ve Done this Year

Most Beautiful Book You’ve Bought this Year

New Release You haven’t Read yet but Want To

What Book do You NEED to Read by the End of the Year?

image

Until next time….

end

One thought on “Mid-Year Book Freak Out Tag

Leave a Reply

