Let’s Pretend This Never Happened: A Mostly True Memoir by Jenny Lawson| Book Review

image

Image result for let's pretend this never happenedTitle: Let’s Pretend This Never Happened: A Mostly True Memoir
Series: standalone
Author: Jenny Lawson
Published: 04/17/12
Genre: adult, memoir, humor
Pages: 318
My Rating: 3.5 / 5
Goodreads page

There are no spoilers in this review.

image

Synopsis

For fans of Tina Fey and David Sedaris—Internet star Jenny Lawson, aka The Bloggess, makes her literary debut.

Jenny Lawson realized that the most mortifying moments of our lives—the ones we’d like to pretend never happened—are in fact the ones that define us. In the #1 New York Times bestseller, Let’s Pretend This Never Happened, Lawson takes readers on a hilarious journey recalling her bizarre upbringing in rural Texas, her devastatingly awkward high school years, and her relationship with her long-suffering husband, Victor. Chapters include: “Stanley the Magical, Talking Squirrel”; “A Series of Angry Post-It Notes to My Husband”; “My Vagina Is Fine. Thanks for Asking”; “And Then I Snuck a Dead Cuban Alligator on an Airplane.” Pictures with captions (no one would believe these things without proof) accompany the text.

(This synopsis is from Goodreads.)

image

Thoughts

This book was WEIRD. No, scratch that. There’s weird, and then there’s this book. I listened to the audiobook version of this story because it had some extra stuff that wasn’t written in the book. The best part of it all was that the author herself was reading the story. It added to the memoir that the Bloggess herself was reading about her experiences.

I read Jenny Lawson’s second book about a year and a half ago, so I already knew getting into her first book that I should expect something weird. I just never knew how weird it was going to get.

The stories themselves were hilarious. I couldn’t quite grasp what she went through in her childhood because I grew up sheltered from the horrors of the world. Not that her childhood was horrible, but there was some strange things that happened.

The stories about Jenny and her husband, Victor, are the best ones. It’s so funny to see the conversations they have on a normal basis. I can’t imagine what it would be like to talk to Jenny Lawson, but I bet it would be really interesting.

I also like how she explained why the subtitle was “A Mostly True Memoir” rather than “A True Memoir”. You’d think she would have made up some crazy part of the story, but she explains in the book that the part that *probably* isn’t true would be something like someone’s name or the time it occurred. It threw me off guard every single time.

Despite all the humor in the memoir, it’s not all lighthearted memories. There were some heavy chapters that caused you to pause and think. Jenny Lawson didn’t hide away the fact that she, too, had some dark times in her life. But I also like how those times strengthened her rather than weakened her spirit in the end.

If you’re looking for something really weird and super funny, I would highly recommend not just this book but any book by Jenny Lawson. She’s hilarious and won’t fail to make you laugh.

(Also, if you have the time, you should listen to the audiobook because she doesn’t always follow the book and there’s some extra stuff she talks about that made me laugh so HARD. I would still read the book as well because there are pictures.)

image

Conclusion

I give this book 3.5 / 5 BBC Sherlock heads. It was so weird that I’m not sure what I think of it.

image

image

Until next time….

end

11 thoughts on “Let’s Pretend This Never Happened: A Mostly True Memoir by Jenny Lawson| Book Review

  1. Kathy @ Books & Munches 08/02/2017 / 8:28 am

    I read Furiously Happy earlier this year and it was simply amazing. I cried of laughter, which is something I rarely do. And yet there were parts in that book that made you think and think some more.
    I honestly hadn’t heard of her before picking up Furiously Happy and even picking up that book was because of the awesome cover – it screams at you to be picked up and checked out.

    It’s a given that I’ll have to read this book as well, simply because it’s written by Jenny Lawson.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Lindsey 08/02/2017 / 8:34 am

    Ooh this certainly sounds like the author to try if you want something a bit different! A book that makes you laugh always scores bonus points! I’m intrigued to say the least! Lovely review!

    Liked by 2 people

    • Jessica 08/02/2017 / 11:09 am

      I hope you enjoy it as much as I did if you decide to read it l! 🙂

      Like

  3. Lauren @ BAOTB 08/02/2017 / 9:36 am

    Jenny Lawson is far and beyond my favorite blogger, ever. I discovered her…somehow, I’m not even sure, but a random internet search led me to her blog and a post about a taxidermy snake vs. taxidermy rodent locked in a battle. I immediately became a huge fan of her, and followed her as soon as I could. Then I discovered she’d written a book, and I bought that book (Let’s Pretend This Never Happened). I fell in love with her all over again. She doesn’t shy away from the bad parts of life, but gets it all right out there. The weirdness of it made me realize that I’m not the only one with a brain that thinks the way I do; there are others out there like me. Maybe I don’t struggle with depression and a few other illnesses quite as badly as Jenny does, but they’re there in the back in my mind all the same.

    Furiously Happy, her second memoir, is even better. I read it twice the first day I picked it up. I brought it back with me from my parents’ house this weekend because I’m going through some more hard things mentally, and needed a little bit of a pick-me-up.

    Jenny’s humor isn’t for everyone, but those who have gone through the same things (although maybe not quite as extreme as hers) are sure to find a fellow soul. I’ve also bought her coloring book (it’s like a pep talk/therapy session/coloring book all in one!), and I’ve heard she’s got a third book coming out sometime in the future (or at least, she’s working on a manuscript for one).

    This is one of the only memoirs I’ve ever truly enjoyed. I’ve appreciated others, but none have been quite as entertaining or “Hey, I’ve felt that way, too!” like this one.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Jessica 08/02/2017 / 11:36 am

      I agree! Let’s Pretend This Never Happened was more of her everyday life stories (so it was more relatable) while Furiously Happy was more of her crazier stories. I haven’t picked up her coloring book yet, but I did get a sample and it’s really cool 🙂

      Like

      • Lauren @ BAOTB 08/02/2017 / 11:38 am

        I preordered it the second it was announced! I also managed to snag the free tote bag the publishers released for those of us who preordered the book. (In fact, I’ve got the tote bag on my work desk right now; dragging a bunch of stuff back and forth to the office means I need a big bag!)

        I just feel like Jenny’s books are a way of telling the rest of the world, It’s okay not to put on a brave face sometimes. You can’t be brave all of the time. And that’s what I really appreciate about her. She doesn’t sugarcoat anything, ever.

        Liked by 1 person

        • Jessica 08/02/2017 / 11:47 am

          Yes! It was nice to see someone represent all parts of being human (the good, the bad, and everything in between) without romanticizing it.

          Like

  4. Meggy | Chocolate'n'Waffles 08/02/2017 / 10:36 am

    I absolutely adored Furiously Happy but DNF this one 😦 I just couldn’t get any of the story. I’ll give it another try at some point, but I was disappointed. Good review! 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

    • Jessica 08/02/2017 / 11:37 am

      The book is not for everyone but I hope you give it another chance 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

