A Dance with Fire by Aleera Anaya Ceres | Book Review

“All magic came with a price, some prices were just higher than others.”

A Dance with Fire by Aleera Anaya Ceres

This review is short and spoiler-free!

https://m.media-amazon.com/images/I/51QK6euoPXL.jpgTitle: A Dance with Fire
Series: Fae Elementals, #1
Author: Aleera Anaya Ceres
Published: September 21, 2020
Publisher: self-published
Category: new adult
Genres: romance, fantasy, fae
Pages: 502
My Rating: ★★★★☆
Goodreads page

──────── ●⚫● ────────

Synopsis

Shula Azzarh is Fae…

…in a world where it’s illegal to be.

Working at Piriguini’s Circus keeps her hidden in plain sight, but when a vicious accident exposes the truth of what she is, her safe game of hiding comes to an end. Taken by the emperor’s soldiers, Shula is forced into the hands of a mysterious Brotherhood, a group of humans hell-bent on eradicating her race completely.

The Fae Resistance needs her. Their healer hates her. And the Emperor of Illyk will stop at nothing to possess her. The secrets of the empire run deeper than she knows, and Shula will have to rely on the magic she’s suppressed for years to save herself from the emperor’s malicious plans.

Because Shula is an Elemental.

And her fire might be the only thing that can make or break their world.

Fans of Sarah J. Maas and Holly Black will love the first installment in this new, action packed, adult fantasy series!

This is a High Fantasy Fae series intended for readers 18 and over as it contains adult M/F romance, sexually explicit scenes, cursing, and dark themes.

[ This synopsis was taken directly from Goodreads. ]

──────────────────────── ●⚫● ────────────────────────

Mood Board

https://i.pinimg.com/originals/3b/98/5f/3b985f04087e5bec4c2bee55a12d5182.png

──────────────────────── ●⚫● ────────────────────────

Thoughts

I picked this book up solely because Sally (@sallteas on Instagram) recommended it. All she said was that she was drawing the chocolate cake scene from this book, and I was instantly intrigued. It might sound ridiculous, but I was genuinely sold by the three words “chocolate cake scene” (and let me tell you, that scene was s p i c y). I didn’t know too much about the book before diving straight in.

First of all, let me just say that the ANGST and TENSION in this story is *chef’s kiss*.

I read romance books to satisfy the romantic in me, and I read YA books for the plot. Usually the romance books I pick up are pure smut (with a little plot), but not this one! This book has a healthy mix of romance and plot. Not only was I interested in the developing relationship between the two main characters, I was also invested in their story.

The world that this author built in this story feels real. Usually when I read fantasy books, while the world-building can be amazing, I could never imagine that world actually existing. However, despite the fact there is magic within this world, I could see it existing IRL in an alternate universe. It’s possible that because the way humans treat others in this book is more akin to the things I’ve witnessed and experienced IRL makes this seem more real in my eyes.

Overall, it’s a fantastic book that I believe deserves more attention. There’s a lot of great elements to it, from a banging cast of three-dimensional characters, awesome magical powers including the ability to create portals (yes, you heard me right. PORTALS!), and an enemies-to-lovers romance. If you find yourself in need of a good romance book, I highly recommend A Dance with Fire by Aleera Anaya Ceres!

──────────────────────── ●⚫● ────────────────────────

Conclusion

I give A Dance with Fire 4 out of 5 stars!

──────────────────────── ●⚫● ────────────────────────

Stay awkward and amazing!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s