What I’ve Been Doing During Quarantine

brown wooden frame with quote

I thought I’d make this post to give people who are struggling to fill their time during this quarantine period some ideas. I’d like to preface this post by saying that I am a college student on summer vacation, meaning that I have a lot of time on my hands. I am not an essential worker, so I’m doing my part by staying inside and social distancing as much as possible. I know that there are people who have jobs, and don’t have the free time that I do. But if you do find yourself with some time on your hands and having no idea what to do with it, maybe some of these things will inspire you.

[Author’s note: I’m new to this whole block editor thing, so if things look wonky, I apologize in advanced. I’m still learning how to use this new version of editor.]

Continue reading

The Aurora Cycle Dream Cast

Meet the Squad in Aurora Rising! | Underlined

I don’t know about you, but I’ve been obsessed with anything that Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff writes together since their Illuminae Files series. They recently released the sequel to their newest series (The Aurora Cycle), and I haven’t stopped thinking about the book ever since. (I mean, look at the squad! If they don’t look badass, I don’t know who does.)

I have yet to read Aurora Burning, but I thought it would be fun to make a dream cast for the characters to get into the spirit of things. I will be casting a new character, so if you haven’t read Aurora Rising (the first book), please do that first before reading this post because there are spoilers.

Just to reiterate: there are spoilers from Aurora Rising in this post. Proceed with caution.

Continue reading

Animal Crossing: Pocket Camp Book Tag

image

I was perusing the internet, looking for something to write about, when I saw that Marta @ The Book Mermaid had done an Animal Crossing tag. Now, I don’t know about you, but I’m absolutely obsessed with Animal Crossing. While I don’t have a Nintendo Switch to play the New Horizons game that was released (sort of) recently, I do play the app version called Animal Crossing: Pocket Camp. The game is very mundane, but that’s what I love about it. There are little to no expectations regarding what you should do. You get to take everything at your own pace.

This tag was created by Enne @ Our Worlds of Words. Please go check them and this amazing tag out! ❤

Continue reading

A Torch Against the Night by Sabaa Tahir | Book Review

image

“But you…are no swift-burning spark. You are a torch against the night – if you dare to let yourself burn.”

Amazon.com: A Torch Against the Night (An Ember in the Ashes ...Title: A Torch Against the Night
Series: An Ember in the Ashes, #2
Author: Sabaa Tahir
Publisher: Razorbill
Genre: YA fantasy
Pages: 452
My Rating: ★★★★☆ (4.5 stars)
Goodreads page

This review contains a no-spoilers section.

Continue reading

Check, Please!, Book 2: Sticks & Scones by Ngozi Ukazu | Book Review

image

Amazon.com: Check, Please! Book 2: Sticks & Scones (9781250179494 ...Title: Sticks & Scones
Series: Check, Please!, #2
Author and Illustrator: Ngozi Ukazu
Publisher:
Genre: YA, contemporary, sports, romance, LGBTQ+
Pages: 336
My Rating: ★★★★★
Goodreads page

This review is short and spoiler free!

Continue reading

Help! I need book recommendations….

Guys! I need your help! I’m in a weird spot right now where I want to read, but I don’t want to read any of the books in my TBR.

That’s where you guys come in.

I’m looking for a young adult book with romance in it but is not a contemporary novel. The romance doesn’t have to be the main focus of the story, but I’d like there to be some. If you know of any that you’ve enjoyed in the past, please let me know! The more options, the better!

Thanks in advanced!

Thank U Laughing GIF by Pusheen - Find & Share on GIPHY

image

Until next time….

end

Felix Ever After by Kacen Callender | ARC Review

image

Amazon.com: Felix Ever After (9780062820259): Callender, Kacen: BooksTitle: Felix Ever After
Series: n/a
Author: Kacen Callender
Release date: May 5, 2020
Publisher: Balzer + Bray
Genre: young adult, contemporary, LGBTQ+
Pages: 386
My Rating: ★★★★☆ (4.75)
Goodreads page

This review has no spoilers.

image

Synopsis

Felix Love has never been in love—and, yes, he’s painfully aware of the irony. He desperately wants to know what it’s like and why it seems so easy for everyone but him to find someone. What’s worse is that, even though he is proud of his identity, Felix also secretly fears that he’s one marginalization too many—Black, queer, and transgender—to ever get his own happily-ever-after.

When an anonymous student begins sending him transphobic messages—after publicly posting Felix’s deadname alongside images of him before he transitioned—Felix comes up with a plan for revenge. What he didn’t count on: his catfish scenario landing him in a quasi–love triangle….

But as he navigates his complicated feelings, Felix begins a journey of questioning and self-discovery that helps redefine his most important relationship: how he feels about himself.

Felix Ever After is an honest and layered story about identity, falling in love, and recognizing the love you deserve.

[ This synopsis was taken directly from Goodreads. ]

Continue reading

April 2020 Wrap-Up | The Awkward Book Blogger

img_0036

Hello, fellow kids! How’s it going?

We are still quarantined (at the time I’m writing this), but from what I heard from the news that’s going to change in the near future. Much like last month, because we were encouraged to stay at home unless absolutely necessary, I found myself with more free time than I knew what to do with. Most of the time I just turned to reading, so much so that I feel a reading slump coming in. More on that later, though.

For now, let’s get on with the wrap-up!

Continue reading

Currently Reading Tag

Hello, earthlings! It’s been a hot minute since I’ve been on the blogosphere. It’s currently midterm season, meaning that I’ve been having tests back to back for the past couple weeks. Thankfully, I’m done with most of my tests until finals so I’ll *hopefully* have more time to read (and sleep).

Image result for tired gif

Anyway, I wanted to do a tag to give my tired brain a break, and lo and behold I saw that Anna @ My Bookish Dream did one that I’ve never done before! I wasn’t tagged, but it seems like a lot of fun so I’m giving it a try!

Continue reading

From Blood and Ash by Jennifer L. Armentrout | Book Review

image

“From blood and ash, we will rise!”

From Blood and Ash (Blood And Ash, #1) by Jennifer L. ArmentroutTitle: From Blood and Ash
Series: Blood and Ash, #1
Author: Jennifer L. Armentrout
Publisher: Blue Box Press
Genre: new adult, fantasy, romance
Pages: 622
My Rating: ★★★★☆
Goodreads page

 

This review is spoiler-free.

image

Synopsis

Captivating and action-packed, From Blood and Ash is a sexy, addictive, and unexpected fantasy perfect for fans of Sarah J. Maas and Laura Thalassa.

A Maiden…

Chosen from birth to usher in a new era, Poppy’s life has never been her own. The life of the Maiden is solitary. Never to be touched. Never to be looked upon. Never to be spoken to. Never to experience pleasure. Waiting for the day of her Ascension, she would rather be with the guards, fighting back the evil that took her family, than preparing to be found worthy by the gods. But the choice has never been hers.

A Duty…

The entire kingdom’s future rests on Poppy’s shoulders, something she’s not even quite sure she wants for herself. Because a Maiden has a heart. And a soul. And longing. And when Hawke, a golden-eyed guard honor bound to ensure her Ascension, enters her life, destiny and duty become tangled with desire and need. He incites her anger, makes her question everything she believes in, and tempts her with the forbidden.

A Kingdom…

Forsaken by the gods and feared by mortals, a fallen kingdom is rising once more, determined to take back what they believe is theirs through violence and vengeance. And as the shadow of those cursed draws closer, the line between what is forbidden and what is right becomes blurred. Poppy is not only on the verge of losing her heart and being found unworthy by the gods, but also her life when every blood-soaked thread that holds her world together begins to unravel.

[ This synopsis is from Goodreads. ]

Continue reading