The Medieval Queens Book Tag


Heyo internet land! I’m coming at you with another fun book tag! While I don’t know a lot about European history, it was super cool to learn about a couple queens from the Medieval Period! I was tagged by the lovely folks over at A Couple of Bees Read, and this book tag was originally created by Jess @ Jessticulates. Please give both blogs some love!

Continue reading

The Brightest Night by Jennifer L. Armentrout | book review

This (short) review is spoiler-free!

“Never.”
“Never come for me.”
“Never look for me.”
“If you do, I will take everything from you.”

Jennifer L. Armentrout, The Brightest Night

Title: The Brightest Night
Series: Origin, #3
Author: Jennifer L. Armentrout
Published: October 20, 2020
Publisher: Tor Teen
Category: young adult
Genre: fantasy, aliens, romance
Pages: 512
My Rating: ★★★☆☆ (3.5)
Goodreads page

Continue reading

Red, White & Royal Blue by Casey McQuiston | book review

This review is spoiler-free!

“History, huh? Bet we could make some.”

Casey McQuiston, Red, White & Royal Blue

Red White and Royal Blue Casey McQuiston book coverTitle: Red, White & Royal Blue
Series: standalone
Author: Casey McQuiston
Published: May 14, 2019
Publisher: St. Martin’s Griffin 
Category: adult
Genre: contemporary, romance, LGBTQ+
Pages: 421
My Rating: ★★★★☆ (4.5)
Goodreads page

─────────────────────────── ●⚫● ───────────────────────────

Synopsis

A big-hearted romantic comedy in which the First Son falls in love with the Prince of Wales after an incident of international proportions forces them to pretend to be best friends…

First Son Alex Claremont-Diaz is the closest thing to a prince this side of the Atlantic. With his intrepid sister and the Veep’s genius granddaughter, they’re the White House Trio, a beautiful millennial marketing strategy for his mother, President Ellen Claremont. International socialite duties do have downsides—namely, when photos of a confrontation with his longtime nemesis Prince Henry at a royal wedding leak to the tabloids and threaten American/British relations.

The plan for damage control: staging a fake friendship between the First Son and the Prince. Alex is busy enough handling his mother’s bloodthirsty opponents and his own political ambitions without an uptight royal slowing him down. But beneath Henry’s Prince Charming veneer, there’s a soft-hearted eccentric with a dry sense of humor and more than one ghost haunting him.

As President Claremont kicks off her reelection bid, Alex finds himself hurtling into a secret relationship with Henry that could derail the campaign and upend two nations. And Henry throws everything into question for Alex, an impulsive, charming guy who thought he knew everything: What is worth the sacrifice? How do you do all the good you can do? And, most importantly, how will history remember you?

[ This synopsis was taken directly from Goodreads. ]

Continue reading

Let’s Talk: Diversity and Representation in YA Books

https://i.pinimg.com/originals/a7/ce/2c/a7ce2c5c8f1650cd0ee8f26f99dacf85.jpg

Hello, internet! I was looking up diverse reads to add to my TBR, when I came across a lot of lists that had books that I would never consider diverse. Also, there has been a lot of talk around diversity and representation in literature lately, and I wanted to give my two cents (and hear your thoughts on the matter as well!)

I should preface this post by saying these thoughts represent my views alone, and I don’t speak for anyone else. For context, I’m an avid reader, and while I read different genres here and there, I usually reach for YA fantasy. I’d also like to point out that I’m not trying to shade any of the books/authors I talk about in this post. I simply want to give examples to help illustrate my point.

Continue reading

A Court of Silver Flames by Sarah J. Maas | book review

This review is spoiler-free!

Never again would she be weak. Never again would she be at someone’s mercy.

A Court of Silver Flames, Sarah J. Maas

A Court of Silver Flame Sarah J. Maas book cover
Title
: A Court of Silver Flames
Series: A Court of Thorns and Roses, #4
Author: Sarah J. Maas
Published: Feb. 16, 2021
Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing
Category: adult
Genre: fantasy, romance
Pages: 757
My Rating: ★★★★☆ (4.5)
Goodreads page

Continue reading

The Women’s History book tag

THE WOMEN’S HISTORY
BOOK TAG


Happy Women’s History month! I’m back from my impromptu break and feeling much better than before. I was having trouble thinking about what I wanted to post when the lovely Marta @ Of Waves and Pages tagged me to do this fun book tag! Marta’s the sweetest person on earth, so please give her blog and YouTube channel some love!

Rules:

  • Thank the person who tagged you and link back to their post.
  • Link to the creator’s blog in your post
  • Answer the questions below using only books written by women
  • Feel free to use the same graphics
  • Tag 8 others to take part in the tag
Continue reading

Firekeeper’s Daughter by Angeline Boulley | ARC review

[ An ARC was given by the publisher in exchange for an honest review. ]

This review is spoiler-free!

9781250766571Title: Firekeeper’s Daughter
Series: standalone
Author: Angeline Boulley
Published: March 16, 2021
Publisher: Henry, Holt and Co.
Category: young adult
Genre: mystery, thriller
Pages: 496
My Rating: ★★★★★
Goodreads page

─────────────────────────── ●⚫● ───────────────────────────

Synopsis

Debut author Angeline Boulley crafts a groundbreaking YA thriller about a Native teen who must root out the corruption in her community, for readers of Angie Thomas and Tommy Orange.

As a biracial, unenrolled tribal member and the product of a scandal, eighteen-year-old Daunis Fontaine has never quite fit in, both in her hometown and on the nearby Ojibwe reservation. Daunis dreams of studying medicine, but when her family is struck by tragedy, she puts her future on hold to care for her fragile mother.

The only bright spot is meeting Jamie, the charming new recruit on her brother Levi’s hockey team. Yet even as Daunis falls for Jamie, certain details don’t add up and she senses the dashing hockey star is hiding something. Everything comes to light when Daunis witnesses a shocking murder, thrusting her into the heart of a criminal investigation.

Reluctantly, Daunis agrees to go undercover, but secretly pursues her own investigation, tracking down the criminals with her knowledge of chemistry and traditional medicine. But the deceptions—and deaths—keep piling up and soon the threat strikes too close to home.

Now, Daunis must learn what it means to be a strong Anishinaabe kwe (Ojibwe woman) and how far she’ll go to protect her community, even if it tears apart the only world she’s ever known.

[ This synopsis was taken directly from Goodreads. ]

Continue reading

A Dance with Fire by Aleera Anaya Ceres | Book Review

“All magic came with a price, some prices were just higher than others.”

A Dance with Fire by Aleera Anaya Ceres

This review is short and spoiler-free!

https://m.media-amazon.com/images/I/51QK6euoPXL.jpgTitle: A Dance with Fire
Series: Fae Elementals, #1
Author: Aleera Anaya Ceres
Published: September 21, 2020
Publisher: self-published
Category: new adult
Genres: romance, fantasy, fae
Pages: 502
My Rating: ★★★★☆
Goodreads page

──────── ●⚫● ────────

Synopsis

Shula Azzarh is Fae…

…in a world where it’s illegal to be.

Working at Piriguini’s Circus keeps her hidden in plain sight, but when a vicious accident exposes the truth of what she is, her safe game of hiding comes to an end. Taken by the emperor’s soldiers, Shula is forced into the hands of a mysterious Brotherhood, a group of humans hell-bent on eradicating her race completely.

The Fae Resistance needs her. Their healer hates her. And the Emperor of Illyk will stop at nothing to possess her. The secrets of the empire run deeper than she knows, and Shula will have to rely on the magic she’s suppressed for years to save herself from the emperor’s malicious plans.

Because Shula is an Elemental.

And her fire might be the only thing that can make or break their world.

Fans of Sarah J. Maas and Holly Black will love the first installment in this new, action packed, adult fantasy series!

This is a High Fantasy Fae series intended for readers 18 and over as it contains adult M/F romance, sexually explicit scenes, cursing, and dark themes.

[ This synopsis was taken directly from Goodreads. ]

Continue reading