A Dance with Fire by Aleera Anaya Ceres | Book Review

“All magic came with a price, some prices were just higher than others.”

A Dance with Fire by Aleera Anaya Ceres

This review is short and spoiler-free!

https://m.media-amazon.com/images/I/51QK6euoPXL.jpgTitle: A Dance with Fire
Series: Fae Elementals, #1
Author: Aleera Anaya Ceres
Published: September 21, 2020
Publisher: self-published
Category: new adult
Genres: romance, fantasy, fae
Pages: 502
My Rating: ★★★★☆
Goodreads page

──────── ●⚫● ────────

Synopsis

Shula Azzarh is Fae…

…in a world where it’s illegal to be.

Working at Piriguini’s Circus keeps her hidden in plain sight, but when a vicious accident exposes the truth of what she is, her safe game of hiding comes to an end. Taken by the emperor’s soldiers, Shula is forced into the hands of a mysterious Brotherhood, a group of humans hell-bent on eradicating her race completely.

The Fae Resistance needs her. Their healer hates her. And the Emperor of Illyk will stop at nothing to possess her. The secrets of the empire run deeper than she knows, and Shula will have to rely on the magic she’s suppressed for years to save herself from the emperor’s malicious plans.

Because Shula is an Elemental.

And her fire might be the only thing that can make or break their world.

Fans of Sarah J. Maas and Holly Black will love the first installment in this new, action packed, adult fantasy series!

This is a High Fantasy Fae series intended for readers 18 and over as it contains adult M/F romance, sexually explicit scenes, cursing, and dark themes.

[ This synopsis was taken directly from Goodreads. ]

Continue reading

How the King of Elfhame Learned to Hate Stories by Holly Black | book review

“Having a heart is terrible, but you need one anyway.”

Holly Black, How the King of Elfhame Learned to Hate Stories

How the King of Elfhame Learned to Hate Stories by Holly Black book coverTitle: How the King of Elfhame Learned to Hate Stories
Series: The Folk of the Air, #3.5
Author: Holly Black
Published: Nov. 24, 2020
Publisher: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
Category: young adult
Genre: fantasy
Pages: 200
My Rating: ★★★★☆
Goodreads page

This short review is spoiler free!

──────── ●⚫● ────────

Synopsis

An illustrated addition to the New York Times bestselling Folk of Air trilogy, that started with The Cruel Prince, from award-winning author Holly Black.

An irresistible return to the captivating world of Elfhame.

Once upon a time, there was a boy with a wicked tongue.

Before he was a cruel prince or a wicked king, he was a faerie child with a heart of stone. #1 New York Times bestselling author Holly Black reveals a deeper look into the dramatic life of Elfhame’s enigmatic high king, Cardan. This tale includes delicious details of life before The Cruel Prince, an adventure beyond The Queen of Nothing, and familiar moments from The Folk of the Air trilogy, told wholly from Cardan’s perspective.

This new installment in the Folk of the Air series is a return to the heart-racing romance, danger, humor, and drama that enchanted readers everywhere. Each chapter is paired with lavish and luminous full-color art, making this the perfect collector’s item to be enjoyed by both new audiences and old.

[ This synopsis was taken directly from Goodreads. ]

Continue reading

Throne of Glass Characters as Songs | Book Playlist

Okay, hear me out: I was listening to the radio when I heard this song that sort of reminded me of Lorcan. Weird, I know, but I couldn’t help but think that it perfectly summed up his character and attitude. I know authors sometimes make playlists for their readers to help them understand the vibe of the book they wrote. So those two elements combined are the inspiration for this post. I thought it would be cool to find a song that represents each main character in the Throne of Glass series. Some of these songs I think the lyrics reflect the character while others I just think the overall vibe of the song sums up the character nicely.

That being said, I might miss a couple characters here and there.

Also, I have the most basic music taste so I apologize if your music taste is more refined than mine. I’m an easy to please gal, alright?

Continue reading