Avatar: The Last Airbender – The Search Omnibus by Gene Luen Yang | ARC Review

A digital copy was provided by the publisher through Edelweiss+ in exchange for an honest review.

513ekhl0wxlTitle: The Search Omnibus
Series: Avatar: The Last Airbender Comics, #2
Author: Gene Luen Yang
Illustrator: Gurihiru
Release date: October 27, 2020
Publisher: Dark Horse Books
Category: YA
Genre: fantasy, graphic novel
Pages: 224
My Rating: ★★★★☆
Goodreads page

This review is spoiler-free!

—– ●⚫● —–

Synopsis

Immediately following the Avatar’s adventures chronicled in The Promise, this remarkable omnibus that collects parts 1-3 of The Search, from Airbender creators Michael Dante DiMartino and Bryan Konietzko!

For years, fans of Avatar: The Last Airbender and The Legend of Korra have burned with one question–what happened to Fire Lord Zuko’s mother? Finding a clue at last, Zuko enlists the aid of Team Avatar–and the most unlikely ally of all–to help uncover the biggest secret of his life.

[ This synopsis was taken directly from Goodreads. ]

Continue reading

Spin the Dawn by Elizabeth Lim | Book Review

“It is an illusion to assume we choose whom we love. I cannot change how I feel about you. I would move the sun and the moon if it meant being with you.”

Elizabeth Lim, Spin the Dawn

e8e8af_2a7e4b507e4a471c8a83cc110344cf7c~mv2_d_1688_2550_s_2Title: Spin the Dawn
Series: The Blood of Stars, #1
Author: Elizabeth Lim
Published: July 9, 2019
Publisher: Alfred A. Knopf Books for Young Readers
Genre: YA fantasy, retelling, romance
Pages: 392
My Rating: ★★★★☆
Goodreads page

This review is spoiler-free!

—– ●⚫● —–

Synopsis

Project Runway meets Mulan in this sweeping YA fantasy about a young girl who poses as a boy to compete for the role of imperial tailor and embarks on an impossible journey to sew three magic dresses, from the sun, the moon, and the stars.

Maia Tamarin dreams of becoming the greatest tailor in the land, but as a girl, the best she can hope for is to marry well. When a royal messenger summons her ailing father, once a tailor of renown, to court, Maia poses as a boy and takes his place. She knows her life is forfeit if her secret is discovered, but she’ll take that risk to achieve her dream and save her family from ruin. There’s just one catch: Maia is one of twelve tailors vying for the job.

Backstabbing and lies run rampant as the tailors compete in challenges to prove their artistry and skill. Maia’s task is further complicated when she draws the attention of the court magician, Edan, whose piercing eyes seem to see straight through her disguise.

And nothing could have prepared her for the final challenge: to sew three magic gowns for the emperor’s reluctant bride-to-be, from the laughter of the sun, the tears of the moon, and the blood of stars. With this impossible task before her, she embarks on a journey to the far reaches of the kingdom, seeking the sun, the moon, and the stars, and finding more than she ever could have imagined.

Steeped in Chinese culture, sizzling with forbidden romance, and shimmering with magic, this young adult fantasy is pitch-perfect for fans of Sarah J. Maas or Renée Ahdieh.

[ This synopsis was taken directly from Goodreads. ]

Continue reading

Grace and Glory Cover Reveal a.k.a. when a book cover is more photogenic than I am

Good morning/afternoon/evening/whatever time of day it is right now! If you’re new here, you might not know that Jennifer L. Armentrout is one of my favorite authors. I believe she’s the most-reviewed author on this blog at the time I’m writing this.

So you might have guessed how excited I was when I saw that the Grace and Glory (a.k.a the last book in The Harbinger trilogy) cover was revealed today!

Shaquille ONeal Excited GIF - ShaquilleONeal Excited Shaking - Discover &  Share GIFs | Dancing cat, Really love you, Shaq

Drum roll, please….

fixed the typo lmao | Tumblr
Continue reading

Timo the Adventurer by Jonathan Garnier | ARC Review

I was given a digital ARC from the publisher through Edelweiss+ in exchange for a honest review.

Title: Timo the Adventurer
Series: standalone
Author: Jonathan Garnier
Illustrator: Yohan Sacré
Release date: October 13, 2020
Publisher: Etch/Clarion Books
Genre: middle grade, fantasy, graphic novel
Pages: 128
My Rating: ★★★★☆
Goodreads page

This review is spoiler-free!

—– ●⚫● —–

Synopsis

Having read every book in his tiny village, young Timo decides it is time to leave home and become a hero. And while that is easier said than done, Timo is determined to succeed. When he rescues an enchanted beast named Broof, Timo gains a gruff and reluctant ally. But little does good-hearted Timo suspect that Broof’s mysterious past will bring complications to his journey…. An engaging hero, surprising plot twists, and a host of fantastical creatures keep readers turning the pages of this spelling-binding fantasy.

[ This synopsis was taken directly from Goodreads. ]

Continue reading

A Court of Silver Flames (ACOTAR #4) Cover Reveal!

I know I don’t normally post on Thursdays, but I had to break up the regular schedule to bring you some stunning bookish news!

This is no longer the (temporary) cover for ACOSF on Goodreads!

The cover of A Court of Silver Flames (a.k.a. the fourth book in the ACOTAR series a.k.a. the start of the ACOTAR sequel series a.k.a. the start of Nesta’s story) was revealed today on Goodreads, and it is surprisingly different than I expected!

Continue reading

A Kingdom of Flesh and Fire by Jennifer L. Armentrout | Book Review

“Your heart, Poppy? It is a gift I do not deserve.” He placed his hands on his knees as he lifted his gaze to mine. “But it is one I will protect until my dying breath.”

Jennifer L. Armentrout, A Kingdom of Flesh and Fire

A Kingdom of Flesh and Fire Jennifer L. Armentrout JLA coverTitle: A Kingdom of Flesh and Fire
Series: Blood and Ash, #2
Author: Jennifer L. Armentrout
Published: September 1, 2020
Publisher: Blue Box Press
Genre: new adult, fantasy, romance, supernatural
Pages: 697
My Rating: ★★★★☆ (4.5)
Goodreads page

This review is spoiler-free!

 

Continue reading

Fangs by Sarah Andersen | ARC Review

I was given a digital ARC from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

Fangs by Sarah AndersenTitle: Fangs
Series: standalone
Author & Illustrator: Sarah Anderson
Release Date: September 1, 2020
Publisher: Andrews McMeel Publishing
Genre: humor, relationships, comics
Pages: 112
My Rating: ★★★★☆
Goodreads page

This short review is spoiler free!

 

 

—– ❤ —–

Synopsis

A new gothic romance story from the creator of the enormously popular Sarah’s Scribbles comics.

Vamp is three hundred years old but in all that time, she has never met her match. This all changes one night in a bar when she meets a charming werewolf. FANGS chronicles the humor, sweetness, and awkwardness of meeting someone perfectly suited to you but also vastly different.

[ This synopsis was taken directly from Goodreads. ]

Continue reading

Sweet Evil by Wendy Higgins | Book Review

image

“We have to face difficulties to find out what our true strengths are. How we come back from failure is a very valuable test.”

Wendy Higgins, Sweet Evil

Sweet Evil (Sweet, #1) by Wendy HigginsTitle: Sweet Evil
Series: Sweet, #1
Author: Wendy Higgins
Published: May 1, 2012
Publisher: HarperTeen
Genre: YA fantasy, romance
Pages: 464
My Rating: ★★★☆☆
Goodreads page

This review is spoiler-free!

image

Synopsis

Embrace the Forbidden

What if there were teens whose lives literally depended on being bad influences?

This is the reality for sons and daughters of fallen angels.
Tenderhearted Southern girl Anna Whitt was born with the sixth sense to see and feel emotions of other people. She’s aware of a struggle within herself, an inexplicable pull toward danger, but it isn’t until she turns sixteen and meets the alluring Kaidan Rowe that she discovers her terrifying heritage and her willpower is put to the test. He’s the boy your daddy warned you about. If only someone had warned Anna.

Forced to face her destiny, will Anna embrace her halo or her horns?

[ This synopsis was taken directly from Goodreads. ]

Continue reading

Mooncakes by Suzanne Walker | Book Review

image

Amazon.com: Mooncakes (9781549303043): Walker, Suzanne, Xu, Wendy ...Title: Mooncakes
Series: standalone
Author: Suzanne Walker
Illustrator: Wendy Xu
Publisher: Oni Press
Genre: YA fantasy, graphic novel
Pages: 256
My Rating: ★★★☆☆ (3.5 stars)
Goodreads page

This short review is spoiler-free!

image

Synopsis

A story of love and demons, family and witchcraft.

Nova Huang knows more about magic than your average teen witch. She works at her grandmothers’ bookshop, where she helps them loan out spell books and investigate any supernatural occurrences in their New England town.

One fateful night, she follows reports of a white wolf into the woods, and she comes across the unexpected: her childhood crush, Tam Lang, battling a horse demon in the woods. As a werewolf, Tam has been wandering from place to place for years, unable to call any town home.

Pursued by dark forces eager to claim the magic of wolves and out of options, Tam turns to Nova for help. Their latent feelings are rekindled against the backdrop of witchcraft, untested magic, occult rituals, and family ties both new and old in this enchanting tale of self-discovery.

[ This synopsis was taken directly from Goodreads. ]

Continue reading

Rage and Ruin by Jennifer L. Armentrout | Book Review

image

Rage and Ruin (The Harbinger, #2) by Jennifer L. ArmentroutTitle: Rage and Ruin
Series: The Harbinger, #2
Author: Jennifer L. Armentrout
Publisher: Inkyard Press
Genre: YA, fantasy, romance
Pages: 576
My Rating: ★★★★☆
Goodreads page

There are no spoilers of Rage and Ruin in this review!

Continue reading