Heartstopper, Volume Three by Alice Oseman | book review

This short review is spoiler-free!

Amazon.com: Heartstopper Volume Three (9781444952773): Oseman, Alice: Books

Title: Heartstopper, Volume Three
Series: Heartstopper, #3
Author: Alice Oseman
Published: Feb. 6, 2020
Publisher: Hodder Children’s Books
Category: young adult
Genre: contemporary, LGBTQIA+
Pages: 384
My Rating: ★★★★★
Goodreads page

Continue reading

Aurora Burning by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff | book review

This review is spoiler-free!

“Slowly, I take my hands off of the controls. I let my mind rest. My thoughts quiet.
There are no further calculations required of me.
It is strangely peaceful.
I lean into my mic to speak to my squadmates.
‘Finian, Scarlett. It has been a privilege to serve in squad 312 alongside you.'”

Aurora Burning, Amie Kaufman & Jay Kristoff


Aurora Burning by Amie Kaufman Jay KristoffTitle
: Aurora Burning
Series: The Aurora Cycle, #2
Authors: Amie Kaufman, Jay Kristoff
Published: May 5, 2020
Publisher: Knopf Books For Young Readers
Category: young adult
Genre: sci-fi
Pages: 495
My Rating: ★★★★☆ (4.5)
Goodreads page

Continue reading

reviewing every book I read in January in one sentence each

One thing that might be surprising is that I read a lot of romance novels. I don’t talk about it here because this is more of a YA book blog. When I saw that Jack Edwards reviewed all the books he read in 2020 in one sentence each, I knew I had to try as well. Because I read a lot of books that I don’t end up reviewing, I thought it’d be a good idea to dedicate a post on my (brief) thoughts for each book I’ve read so far in 2021. However, that post would be insanely long, so I decided to split them up by month. Today, I’ll be reviewing all the books I read in January, and in a few weeks I’ll review February’s books, and so on and so forth.

Continue reading

books that made me cry like I did during college finals

CRY-WORTHY BOOKS


Finals week is over, which means I can finally decompress and enjoy life. This past semester has been seriously tough mentally and emotionally, so I couldn’t help but cry in relief that I’m done. As a sympathetic crier (I start tearing up when others cry), it doesn’t take much to make my eyes sweat. I thought I’d compile a list of books that made me tear up as a celebration of finishing this semester. (Don’t question my logic… my brain is fried and I don’t feel like thinking).

Continue reading

These Violent Delights by Chloe Gong | book review

This review is spoiler-free!

“She…hoped. And hope was dangerous. Hope was the most vicious evil of them all, the thing that had managed to thrive in Pandora’s box among misery, and disease, and sadness—and what could endure alongside others with such teeth if it didn’t have ghastly claws of its own?”

– Chloe Gong, These Violent Delights

These Violent Delights by Chloe Gong
(These Violent Delights, #1)

Published: November 17, 2020
Publisher: Margaret K. McElderry Books
Category: YA
Genre: historical, fantasy, retelling, romance
Pages: 463
My Rating: ★★★★☆ (4.5 stars)
Goodreads page

─────────────────── ●⚫● ───────────────────

Synopsis

Perfect for fans of The Last Magician and Descendant of the Crane, this heart-stopping debut is an imaginative Romeo and Juliet retelling set in 1920s Shanghai, with rival gangs and a monster in the depths of the Huangpu River.

The year is 1926, and Shanghai hums to the tune of debauchery.

A blood feud between two gangs runs the streets red, leaving the city helpless in the grip of chaos. At the heart of it all is eighteen-year-old Juliette Cai, a former flapper who has returned to assume her role as the proud heir of the Scarlet Gang—a network of criminals far above the law. Their only rivals in power are the White Flowers, who have fought the Scarlets for generations. And behind every move is their heir, Roma Montagov, Juliette’s first love…and first betrayal.

But when gangsters on both sides show signs of instability culminating in clawing their own throats out, the people start to whisper. Of a contagion, a madness. Of a monster in the shadows. As the deaths stack up, Juliette and Roma must set their guns—and grudges—aside and work together, for if they can’t stop this mayhem, then there will be no city left for either to rule.

[ This synopsis was taken directly from Goodreads. ]

Continue reading

The Anti-TBR Tag

We know what a TBR is (to be read). A lot of bookworms have TBRs long enough to last a lifetime. But one thing I’ve never heard of in all my years as an online bookworm is an anti-TBR. When I saw this tag (originally created by Nicole @ Nicole & Her Books on YouTube), I was intrigued.

Basically, the questions revolve around books/authors that you wouldn’t put in your TBR (hence the name). I’ve seen other people’s answers to these questions, and some of them are s p i c y.

(Hopefully I won’t get cancelled by the end of this.)

Let’s get into it!

Continue reading

The Beautiful by Renée Ahdieh | book review

This review is spoiler-free!

“When life becomes difficult. the only source of strength we have is love. Love of others, love of self, love of life in its entirety.”

Renee Ahdieh, The Beautiful

Title: The Beautiful
Author: Renée Ahdieh
Series: The Beautiful, #1
Published: Oct. 8, 2019
Publisher: G.P. Putnam’s Sons Books for Young Reader
Category: young adult
Genre: fantasy, paranormal, romance
Pages: 448
My Rating: ★★★☆☆ (3.5)
Goodreads page

─────────────────── ●⚫● ───────────────────

Synopsis

In 1872, New Orleans is a city ruled by the dead. But to seventeen-year-old Celine Rousseau, New Orleans provides her a refuge after she’s forced to flee her life as a dressmaker in Paris. Taken in by the sisters of the Ursuline convent along with six other girls, Celine quickly becomes enamored with the vibrant city from the music to the food to the soirées and—especially—to the danger. She soon becomes embroiled in the city’s glitzy underworld, known as Le Cour des Lions, after catching the eye of the group’s leader, the enigmatic Sèbastien Saint Germain. When the body of one of the girls from the convent is found in the lair of Le Cour des Lions, Celine battles her attraction to him and suspicions about Sèbastien’s guilt along with the shame of her own horrible secret.

When more bodies are discovered, each crime more gruesome than the last, Celine and New Orleans become gripped by the terror of a serial killer on the loose—one Celine is sure has set her in his sights . . . and who may even be the young man who has stolen her heart. As the murders continue to go unsolved, Celine takes matters into her own hands and soon uncovers something even more shocking: an age-old feud from the darkest creatures of the underworld reveals a truth about Celine she always suspected simmered just beneath the surface.

[ This synopsis was taken directly from Goodreads. ]

Continue reading

The Brightest Night by Jennifer L. Armentrout | book review

This (short) review is spoiler-free!

“Never.”
“Never come for me.”
“Never look for me.”
“If you do, I will take everything from you.”

Jennifer L. Armentrout, The Brightest Night

Title: The Brightest Night
Series: Origin, #3
Author: Jennifer L. Armentrout
Published: October 20, 2020
Publisher: Tor Teen
Category: young adult
Genre: fantasy, aliens, romance
Pages: 512
My Rating: ★★★☆☆ (3.5)
Goodreads page

Continue reading

Let’s Talk: Diversity and Representation in YA Books

https://i.pinimg.com/originals/a7/ce/2c/a7ce2c5c8f1650cd0ee8f26f99dacf85.jpg

Hello, internet! I was looking up diverse reads to add to my TBR, when I came across a lot of lists that had books that I would never consider diverse. Also, there has been a lot of talk around diversity and representation in literature lately, and I wanted to give my two cents (and hear your thoughts on the matter as well!)

I should preface this post by saying these thoughts represent my views alone, and I don’t speak for anyone else. For context, I’m an avid reader, and while I read different genres here and there, I usually reach for YA fantasy. I’d also like to point out that I’m not trying to shade any of the books/authors I talk about in this post. I simply want to give examples to help illustrate my point.

Continue reading

Heartstopper, Volume One by Alice Oseman | graphic novel review

This review is spoiler-free!

Heartstopper, Volume One Alice Oseman book coverTitle: Heartstopper, Volume One
Series: Heartstopper, #1
Author: Alice Oseman
Published: February 7, 2019
Publisher: Hodder Children’s Books
Category: YA
Genre: contemporary, LGBTQ+
Pages: 288
My Rating: ★★★★★
Goodreads page

─────────────────────────── ●⚫● ───────────────────────────

Synopsis

Charlie, a highly-strung, openly gay over-thinker, and Nick, a cheerful, soft-hearted rugby player, meet at a British all-boys grammar school. Friendship blooms quickly, but could there be something more…?

Charlie Spring is in Year 10 at Truham Grammar School for Boys. The past year hasn’t been too great, but at least he’s not being bullied anymore. Nick Nelson is in Year 11 and on the school rugby team. He’s heard a little about Charlie – the kid who was outed last year and bullied for a few months – but he’s never had the opportunity to talk to him.

They quickly become friends, and soon Charlie is falling hard for Nick, even though he doesn’t think he has a chance. But love works in surprising ways, and sometimes good things are waiting just around the corner…

[ This synopsis was taken directly from Goodreads. ]

Continue reading