Diverting your attention

Recently I watched a Vlogbrother video (go Nerdfighteria!) that the Hank half of the Green brothers made. It’s called Things That You Just Might Love. He talked about how people who have attention and money use that attention and money to gain more attention and money (he explains it better than I do), and how he wanted to divert some of that attention to the things he loves.

And I wanted to do the same.

By no means am I famous or making money off of this blog, but I did want to share some of the things I loved because why not?

Also, I haven’t been posting that frequently on this blog because school (and writer’s block >.< ) are taking up a lot of my time. I wanted to use some of your extra attention and put them to places and things that I love.

image

The Vlogbrothers channel

No seriously, you should check them out! If you’re into the quirkier side of YouTube with intellectual conversations and topics, I would definitely go check Hank and John Green out. They have some weird videos, but they also have really informational ones as well. They genuinely care about the world and its people.

And while we’re on the topic of Hank and John Green…

Dear Hank and John (SoundCloud, iTunes)

… you should listen to their podcast! They talk about science (mainly Hank) and death (mainly John) and it’s super funny and interesting to listen to. I like to listen to them on the car ride to school and while I’m waiting for my classes to start.

Now for some of my favorite fan artists on Tumblr!

Meabhd | Charlie Bowater | Tarajtah (Tara) | Chrll (Cheryl) | Salltea (Sally) | Merwild

Just a fair warning, all of these artists are Throne of Glass/A Court of Thorns and Roses fan artists. They also do other fandoms and their own original art, but I just wanted to let you know in case you see a theme between the artists.

Exploding Kittens

A student teacher in one of my classes introduced me to this game and it’s kind of addicting. It’s a card game that’s like Russian Roulette, but more kid friendly. Although, now that I think about it, it’s more of an older kid friendly game than a 6-years-and-younger kid friend game.

Tapastic (Tapas) (free)

If you want to read stories and comics made by local artists/authors like myself, you can download an app and it’ll be directly on your phone. The best thing about the app is that you get to tip an artist/author. You can get coins for tipping either by watching ads or buying them with money. It helps support artists and authors and I think it’s super neat.

Balanced (free)

This app helps you make good habits. You get to set what your goal is and how many times a week you want to do whatever you want to do. Whenever you achieve the goal, you swipe to check that you did it. For now, I have three goals: to be thankful, to work out, and to read more.

oneSafe ($4.99)

This protects all your passwords and account information. If you’re like me, you like to put different passwords for different accounts. I happen to forget my passwords all the time, so I have oneSafe on my phone that stores all that information. The app itself has a password so whenever you open it, you have to input that special password in order to get in. You can use a PIN, passsword, pattern, or this thing called a TRI-PIN, which is the most secure. It’s like a PIN code, but you get to use colors, numbers, and symbols. The colors and symbols switch places each time you open the app, so it’s less likely for someone to break in if they watch the motion of your hand.

HouseParty (free)

This is a great app if you want to have a video-chat with several people. I’ve always had trouble video-chatting with several people at once because then whatever app I’m on crashes, but not HouseParty.

Jackaby | Shadowed Strength | Lumberjanes | Amulet

Here are some lesser-known books that I want to give more love to.

Furiously Happy | Graceling | Mistborn | Shades of Magic | A Monster Calls | Six of Crows | Born a Crime

And here are more books that I think deserve more love despite being well-known!

Brandon Sanderson | Sarah J. Maas | Jenny Lawson | Marissa Meyer | Harper Lee

Author appreciation! (These are some of the authors whose books that I’ve read so far that haven’t disappointed yet)

image

Until next time….

end

Leave a Reply

