Grace and Glory Cover Reveal a.k.a. when a book cover is more photogenic than I am

Good morning/afternoon/evening/whatever time of day it is right now! If you’re new here, you might not know that Jennifer L. Armentrout is one of my favorite authors. I believe she’s the most-reviewed author on this blog at the time I’m writing this.

So you might have guessed how excited I was when I saw that the Grace and Glory (a.k.a the last book in The Harbinger trilogy) cover was revealed today!

Shaquille ONeal Excited GIF - ShaquilleONeal Excited Shaking - Discover &  Share GIFs | Dancing cat, Really love you, Shaq

Drum roll, please….

fixed the typo lmao | Tumblr
Continue reading

A Kingdom of Flesh and Fire by Jennifer L. Armentrout | Book Review

“Your heart, Poppy? It is a gift I do not deserve.” He placed his hands on his knees as he lifted his gaze to mine. “But it is one I will protect until my dying breath.”

Jennifer L. Armentrout, A Kingdom of Flesh and Fire

A Kingdom of Flesh and Fire Jennifer L. Armentrout JLA coverTitle: A Kingdom of Flesh and Fire
Series: Blood and Ash, #2
Author: Jennifer L. Armentrout
Published: September 1, 2020
Publisher: Blue Box Press
Genre: new adult, fantasy, romance, supernatural
Pages: 697
My Rating: ★★★★☆ (4.5)
Goodreads page

This review is spoiler-free!

 

Continue reading

Rage and Ruin by Jennifer L. Armentrout | Book Review

image

Rage and Ruin (The Harbinger, #2) by Jennifer L. ArmentroutTitle: Rage and Ruin
Series: The Harbinger, #2
Author: Jennifer L. Armentrout
Publisher: Inkyard Press
Genre: YA, fantasy, romance
Pages: 576
My Rating: ★★★★☆
Goodreads page

There are no spoilers of Rage and Ruin in this review!

Continue reading

From Blood and Ash by Jennifer L. Armentrout | Book Review

image

“From blood and ash, we will rise!”

From Blood and Ash (Blood And Ash, #1) by Jennifer L. ArmentroutTitle: From Blood and Ash
Series: Blood and Ash, #1
Author: Jennifer L. Armentrout
Publisher: Blue Box Press
Genre: new adult, fantasy, romance
Pages: 622
My Rating: ★★★★☆
Goodreads page

 

This review is spoiler-free.

image

Synopsis

Captivating and action-packed, From Blood and Ash is a sexy, addictive, and unexpected fantasy perfect for fans of Sarah J. Maas and Laura Thalassa.

A Maiden…

Chosen from birth to usher in a new era, Poppy’s life has never been her own. The life of the Maiden is solitary. Never to be touched. Never to be looked upon. Never to be spoken to. Never to experience pleasure. Waiting for the day of her Ascension, she would rather be with the guards, fighting back the evil that took her family, than preparing to be found worthy by the gods. But the choice has never been hers.

A Duty…

The entire kingdom’s future rests on Poppy’s shoulders, something she’s not even quite sure she wants for herself. Because a Maiden has a heart. And a soul. And longing. And when Hawke, a golden-eyed guard honor bound to ensure her Ascension, enters her life, destiny and duty become tangled with desire and need. He incites her anger, makes her question everything she believes in, and tempts her with the forbidden.

A Kingdom…

Forsaken by the gods and feared by mortals, a fallen kingdom is rising once more, determined to take back what they believe is theirs through violence and vengeance. And as the shadow of those cursed draws closer, the line between what is forbidden and what is right becomes blurred. Poppy is not only on the verge of losing her heart and being found unworthy by the gods, but also her life when every blood-soaked thread that holds her world together begins to unravel.

[ This synopsis is from Goodreads. ]

Continue reading

Most Anticipated Releases of 2020

I know we’re already a month and a half into 2020, but I still wanted to create a post fangirling over the books I’m excited about that’s coming out this year. I’m not going to include any books that have already been released this year in between January 1 and February 16 (the day I’m writing this post) because technically they’re not anticipated releases anymore.

Image result for books gif

Because some of these books I’m going to be talking about is not the first book in its series, I hid all the blurbs in a drop down that you can click to reveal just so I don’t accidentally spoil anyone who doesn’t want to be spoiled.

Anywho, let’s get excited about some new books!

Continue reading

News on Jennifer L. Armentrout’s New Book | The Awkward Book Blogger

A couple days ago, I got an email. A newsletter, to be exact, from the one and only Jennifer L. Armentrout. If you’re no stranger, you know that Jennifer L. Armentrout is one of my favorite young adult authors. I think she holds the record of the most books reviewed on this blog (don’t quote me on that… I’m not actually sure and I’m too tired to double check).

Image result for i love this author gif

Anywho, she announced in her most recent newsletter that she has working on a novel that she mysteriously named FB&A. It’s probably the first letter of each word in the title if I had to guess, but that name doesn’t give us much about the actual story.

Here’s what Armentrout was willing to share with us.

Continue reading

Top Five Books Set in University

[Before I get going with this, I just wanted to announce that the winner of my very small giveaway has been chosen and announced on my giveaway post.]

Hello! It’s been a hot minute since I’ve been here. I’ve been super busy struggling with chemistry and microeconomics that I haven’t had the time to sit down and write a post. Or read. Or do anything except sleep, eat, and study.

Related image

Despite the fact that I have three midterms coming up pretty soon, I’m going to take a break from studying and talk about books set in uni. I thought it would be fitting since that’s all I feel like I’m doing right now.

Continue reading

Sentinel by Jennifer L. Armentrout| Book Review

image

Image result for sentinel jennifer armentroutTitle: Sentinel
Series: Covenant, #5
Author: Jennifer L. Armentrout
Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton
Genre: young adult, fantasy, Greek mythology, romance
Pages: 360
My Rating: ★★★★☆
Goodreads page

There is a spoiler-free section in this review.

Continue reading